View Full Version : PHP file arrived looking like chicken scratch!

05-01-2004, 01:03 AM
I am new to PHP..........Well what I mean is I can stumble around and eventually get a perl or cgi program to work....BUT this PHP file arrived after I loaded it with ASC2 transfer to my Unix server as a series of symbols and SOMETIMES it would show me a few lines or readable text...... Can someone tell me what is happening?

05-01-2004, 01:22 AM
Hmm... Maybe it is encrypted in some way? Or maybe it isnt a PHP script, could be an application code?

Either way, please could you take a look at the posting guidelines ( http://www.codingforums.com/postguide.htm ) (mainly section 2).

Can you explain it a bit better? i think i got the gist but more info would be helpful.

05-01-2004, 01:30 AM
Are you sure your FTP program was in ASCII mode when it transferred? That can be caused by binary transfers. What program did you use to FTP the file?

05-01-2004, 01:32 AM
Sorry about the comparision to the fowl in my last and also first post here. It has been a frusterating day.

On my server the file looked like a series of squares and letters that I could not account for.

It also loaded only the following word when I tryed opening it in notetab.

I think from what I learned today , ZEND is a new vehicle to deliver scripts?

At any rate. What can I do to resolve this. Only a few of the files arrived in this format. And I re-loaded them a few times as well with no change.......

I really do think that I may have a server issue as like I mentioned before. I would sometimes see on re-opening the file in the webshell ....a few lines of typical PHP text.....Mostly a warning message stating unknown character and the name of my server's webshell feature.

05-01-2004, 01:42 AM
Did you check what spookster said? Other than that I dont really have any idea, sorry about that...

Zend (The zend engine) is the core engine of the PHP language.

05-01-2004, 01:56 AM
I may have found the problem.