...

View Full Version : Populating textarea when dropdown box is changed



syedali77
04-27-2004, 02:22 PM
There ia an empty textarea and a pre-populated drop-down box with a default message. How can I get the text selected from the drop-down box(onChange) into the textarea using javascript?

swmr
04-27-2004, 02:53 PM
this might do it...



<html>
<head>
<title>-</title>

<script type="text/JavaScript">

function showText(){
var F, opt;
F = document.oForm;
opt = F.oSel.options;

F.oTxt.value = opt[opt.selectedIndex].text;

}
</script>

</head>
<body>

<form name="oForm">

<select name="oSel" size="3"
onchange="showText()">

<option>lorem</option>
<option>ipsum</option>
<option>dolar</option>

</select>

<textarea name="oTxt" cols="10" rows="5">
</textarea>

</form>

</body>
</html>

glenngv
04-28-2004, 04:43 AM
shorter code:

<select name="oSel" size="3"
onchange="this.form.oTxt.value=this.options[this.selectedIndex].text">



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum