...

View Full Version : refresh problem



suhayda
04-27-2004, 06:34 AM
for some reason my localhost doesn't refresh anything that's being pulled in with PhP. Does anyone know how to change this. I am using Xampp (Apache server + Addons)

Thanks

raf
04-27-2004, 07:31 AM
What do you mean by "my localhost doesn't refresh anything that's being pulled in with PhP" ?

I'd assume that "localhost" is the 'domainname' of your Apache server, running on the same machine as your browser. Do you mean that your browser shows PHP pages from it's cache instead of making a new call to the webserver?

If this is what you mean : You can add a timer to the querystring so that there will be no cached files found.

missing-score
04-27-2004, 07:47 AM
alternative: use ctrl+r in your browser.. this usually forces the data to be downloaded again.

Mhtml
04-27-2004, 08:28 AM
Or maybe it isn't cached and the data is simply the same?

suhayda
04-27-2004, 09:09 AM
my page is made up of a general template. I pull in different type of pieces depending on what I need. For example I have a search box in the middle, that I keep separate from my template for editing reasons. It would be a mess if I kept it in one file. The weird thing is that if I update the template I immediately see all changes when I preview the page. But when I update the search box (just an html file) it pulls in the old file. Even if I rename it, it will still pull it in.
Also some other content on the page that I generate from a database is updated as soon as I change things in the Database. I can't figure out why. I have alredy started to always change the backgroundcolor of my search box to see the change when it happens immediately and hit refresh many times, but nothing helps, like I said, even if the file is non-existant anymore it still pulls it from cash.

Thanks for all your responses



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum