...

View Full Version : Controlling drop-down box options using radio buttons



mtkirwan
04-22-2004, 06:17 AM
Hi

I want to write a script that will control what options are displayed in a drop-down box depending on what radio button a user selects eg If the user selects radio button 1 then A,B & C are options, if the user selects radio button 2 then D, E and F are options and if a user selects radio button 3 then G,H and I are options.

I have written a script to deal with the situation where if a user selects an option from a first drop-down box then different options are given in a second drop-down box but have not been able to successfully adapt to it the case where a set of radio buttons are used instead of the first drop-down box.

Can someone please help me?

That script is below (with cuisines and dishes being used as options rather than numbers and letters)

var cuisines = new Array();
var cuisineField;
var dishField;

function initDishes()
{

//find the required fields - this should run on load of the document so isn't written in a function.

cuisineField=null;
for (var x=0;x<entryForms.length && cuisineField==null;x++)
{
cuisineField = entryForms[x]["cuisineName"];
dishField = entryForms[x]["dishName"];
}

// **************************************************

//ENTER THE DATA FOR THE DISHES HERE

//in alphabetical order first by Cuisine, then by Dish Name

addDish(“Chinese”,”Cantonese Roasted Duck”);
addDish(“Chinese”,”Red Cooked Pork with Tofu”);
addDish(“Chinese”,”Mongolian Beef Fire Pot”);
addDish(“Italian”,”Fegati Alla Veneziana”);
addDish(“Italian”,”Abaccio Al Forno”);
addDish(“Italian”,”Maccheroni con le sarde”);
addDish(“Mexican”,”Chicken Enchilada”);
addDish(“Mexican”,”Quesadilla Casserole”);
addDish(“Mexican”,”Chiles Rellenos”);


//END ENTERING DATA FOR THE DISHES
// **************************************************

//load the selections into the region field

cuisineField.options[0] = new Option("-SELECT-");
i = 0;
for(x in cuisines)
{
i++;
cuisineField.options[i] = new Option(x);
}

cuisineField.options[0].selected = true;
dishField.options[0].selected = true;

getCookies();
updateDishList();
getCookies();
}

function updateDishList()
{

//remove the current options in the list

for(j=dishField.options.length;j>=0;j--)
{
dishField.options[j] = null;
}

//populate the new options in the list

selCuisine = cuisineField.options[cuisineField.selectedIndex].text;
dishField.options[0] = new Option("-SELECT-");
dishField.options[0].selected = true;
i = 0;
for(x in cuisines[selCuisine])
{
i++;
dishField.options[i] = new Option(x);
}
}

function addDish(cuisine, dish, id)
{

//define a new Dish

if(cuisines[cuisine]==undefined)
{
cuisines[cuisine] = new Array();
}

cuisines[cuisine][dish] = id;
}
}

glenngv
04-22-2004, 07:01 AM
I made this script in such a way that it works even when the number of corresponding option items varies. Your current requirement has always 3 corresponding items (A, B, C or D, E, F, or G, H, I)


<html>
<head>
<script type="text/javascript">
function generateItems(objRad){
var arrItems = objRad.value.split(','); //get corresponding items
var objSel = objRad.form.mySelect;
objSel.options.length=1; //remove all items except "--Select one--"
for (var i=0;i<arrItems.length;i++){
objSel.options[i+1] = new Option(arrItems[i], arrItems[i]);
}
objSel.selectedIndex = 0;
}
</script>
</head>
<body>
<form name="f">
<input type="radio" name="rad" value="A,B,C" onclick="generateItems(this)" />Selection 1
<input type="radio" name="rad" value="D,E,F" onclick="generateItems(this)" />Selection 2
<input type="radio" name="rad" value="G,H,I" onclick="generateItems(this)" />Selection 3
<select name="mySelect">
<option>--Select one--</option>
</select>
</form>
</body>
</html>

mtkirwan
04-22-2004, 08:05 AM
Thanks Glenn. I will try it out.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum