View Full Version : Programmers : How long did it take you to 'Get it'?

furiousferret
04-21-2004, 05:44 AM
This is to all programmers, mainly the C, C++, and Java ppl, but I really want to know how long it took everyone here to feel that they were proficient at coding, where you get to the point where someone can describe an app and you can write it easily, or at least get the concept of what you have to do. Also, how did you get to that point? Self taught? School?

I've been taking a programming class (Java) at college and writing some small JavaScript codes, and after about 4 months of coding alot of things still really confuse me, mainly looping. I know how to do one, I'm just not sure how they are always implemented in applications. I'm sure eventually it'll click, and I know I'm learning fast (only 3 people in my class are even caught up in thier work) compared to others, but I'm still really far off from where I want to be.

But enough about me, I want to hear everyones story :)

liorean
04-21-2004, 07:40 AM
Well, in my case, really "getting" JavaScript took 1995-2002 or somewhere in that region. However, most of that time I just used it as a tool, but I didn't look into the depths of it, like I am today.

Jason
04-21-2004, 07:42 PM
I felt like it took a year or so to get good at java and C/C++ however I never really do much GUI programing so I probably would have a tough time writting one, but the logic behind it without the display I could do rather quickly...

Jason

Mhtml
04-22-2004, 02:14 PM
Took me about 6 months. Once you 'get it' though, you find that you learn really quickly after that and when you look back when you 'got it' doesn't really compare to the 'gettingness' you currently have ;) .. You never really get it all though, there is always something you can't seem to get your mind around.

But like Jason said, the logic is the main part of it... Once you begin to think like a computer so to speak it sort of just flows.

sad69