...

View Full Version : ftp> chmode setup/ 400



JAVAEOC
04-19-2004, 05:27 AM
ftp> chmode setup/ 400... what does that mean, and how can I do it?

firepages
04-19-2004, 05:54 AM
what it does depends on the FTP client/server e.g.

chmod setup/ 0400

would chmod the folder ./setup to 0400

why do you want to do it if you don't know what it does ? can you elaborate your needs ?

bcarl314
04-19-2004, 02:45 PM
Chmod 400 is a very restrictive setting giving only the file onwer read-only access. No write / execute capabilities for the owner, and no permissions what-so-ever for anyone else.

Why do you need such restrictive permissions?

JAVAEOC
04-20-2004, 01:41 AM
I dont care what i does, but for that script i down loaded it says that i have to chmode 3 files, and if i dont the script says its not gonna run for me :eek:

so I have to chmode those files, but how????

Unit
04-30-2004, 02:54 AM
You may want to understand what the script requires and why it requires it. Because if it is a script that allows users to modify configuration and/or other files, then you may want to restrict it as much as is possible. btw, chmod is a unix/linux command. It does not work in windows. you can achieve the same purpose by setting the access control lists if you are using NTFS.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum