...

View Full Version : Need help to write a code....



JAVAEOC
04-16-2004, 03:39 AM
First of, I have totally no clue about php, however me and my friend want to do something for a GAME clan website....

here is what we want to do:

1. Somebody can buy an account to submit a photo and profile
2. All people are able to view photos
3. Only members are able to view profile
4. A search for member, hieght, screenname and all that good stuff

Is this possible, if so it would make me very happy if somebody could write this code for me.....

Thanks alot :D

I really hope somebody can help me ( I also hope that this somebody does not require money for this code, scince i hardly have any of it :D)

thanks again

mordred
04-16-2004, 11:17 AM
What I write will probably disappoint you, because I won't write the code for you. It's not that your request contains too many complicated tasks, but it'll take some time to finish the application which I don't have. Plus, your requirements are rather vague.

However, I would recommend search on Hotscripts (http://www.hotscripts.com) for premade app that fulfills your needs. What you want is a mixture between CMS and picture gallery, and for those exist countless premade scripts. A good picture gallery I can recommend is Gallery (http://gallery.sourceforge.net).

BTW, if you want someone to write PHP code for you - always include the PHP version and the server type (module or CGI, Apache or IIS etc.) on which the code needs to run. It's always frustrating to see that fine code does not work because the server runs an ancient PHP version, and you have to backport countless standard functions. ;)

JAVAEOC
04-16-2004, 01:57 PM
Thanks you for your link, it seems to give me everything i need, thanks alot :D

Now I only have to find out how to get it running, i already made my pc a webserver so i thought i could test it, but i only see text :eek:

Thanks again...

JAVAEOC
04-16-2004, 02:16 PM
I downloaded it into my webdirectory, and now im completle lost, They talk about unix, php4, not php5, apach, and all that kind of crazy stuff which means nothing to me.....

Is it possible that you give me a link to all the stuff i need to install on my PC/Server, for the php stuff to wrok, cause right now i only get TEXT,

thanks for your help so far


:(

raf
04-16-2004, 02:26 PM
Check the sticky about PHPDEV on top of this forum.

Installing a ready made package like that is the easiest way to get started.

JAVAEOC
04-16-2004, 03:03 PM
Now i installed it, but still all the php sites show up as text, what did i do wrong???

mordred
04-16-2004, 03:09 PM
Following rafs suggestion will yield results very fast; however, if you have already a web server installed on your PC, you only have to install and configure the PHP interpreter correctly. There is extensive documentation for doing this on php.net: http://www.php.net/manual/en/installation.php

If you need further help, you must tell us which OS and web server you use in order to get qualified help. Good luck. :)

EDIT: If your .php files show up as text, then the web server isn't configured properly to hand these files over to PHP before sending them back to the client. In Apache, you have have to add this line to your httpd.conf (the main configuration file):

AddType application/x-httpd-php .php

raf
04-16-2004, 03:16 PM
Last time is installed one of the PHPDEV packages, it just installed and ran. No configuraion required at all. When the installation finished, you should get a parsed PHP page telling you all is fine.

If you then wan't to run your own PHP files, then the easiest way is to find the www-directory (under directory phpdev, i believe, and paste your files to that location.

To see the pages then, you then open a browserwindow and type in http://localhost/yourfilename.php

(you need to browse them and not for instance doubleclick on them in your windows explorer or so)

JAVAEOC
04-16-2004, 03:24 PM
Ok, thanks for the help so far, here is what i got:

1. I downloaded and installed the phpdev packed
2. I have this server on my pc http://www.aprelium.com/
3. I downloaded and copeyd the gallery in the abyss folder

thats all I did, but my php still wont show up :(............


thanks for any further help.....

JAVAEOC
04-17-2004, 04:03 AM
I got my selve a real server, but now i need help with it :(

I almost got the gallery script running, but now i have to make my folder for the gallery writable, how would i do this????



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum