...

View Full Version : window size with php



psychophage
04-03-2004, 10:23 AM
Hello everybody !!!!
I don't know anything in php, but I'm planning to learn this language.
Somebody made a guestbook for my website, something beautiful and totaly great ( the guestbook, not the website, lol !! ) with flash and php.
The only problem is : when the message appears in the window ( the flash-made design ), the flash window is smaller than the php window, and the message are troncated.
Is there a way I can specify the size of the php window, as we do in in html, so that the window width is not greater than the flash area width ???
I'm not sure I was very clear.... sorry... I hope you could tell me how to do that, it would be really great !!! :p
Thanks !!!!!
Psycho

raf
04-03-2004, 12:21 PM
you are probably opening this new window with some javascript. You can specify the windowssize there.

if you open it with a plain target="_blank" then you need to resize it with javascript in the requested page (an onload for instance)

maybe post the code you use to open the new window, but it's most likely a javascript issue (hint hint)

psychophage
04-05-2004, 09:24 AM
For the javascript, I know how to resize the window... The problem is : this is not a javascript code...
The only thing I have ( which is not mine ) is this loadsigned.php file, and, in the flash message area, " . urlencode($listSigned) . " . So I don't know where to specify the window's width to make it smaller....
The other possibility ( it would even be better ) would be to "force" the message to go to the next line ( force the enter task ) when the user is entering the message in the comment area....
Sorry about my poor english.... :(
I hope you understand what I mean. I don't know if I can post the link to the page here, so that you can see what I mean, or if it's against the rules of this forum....
thanks
Psycho

raf
04-05-2004, 09:57 AM
not sure i understand it.

why don't you just specify the windows-specs inside the page that request the php page?
As far as iknow, PHP doesn't open windows or specifies windows-dimensions. It can however output javascript that will resize the window (for instance with a 'body onload'. All PHP does is compose HTML, javascript, XML, ... and then sends it to the client, where it is displayed in the browser as if it was hardcoded.

missing-score
04-05-2004, 01:16 PM
it sounds like it would need to edited in the flash file... It sounds like the element the content is going in is not 'wrapping' the lines, and therefore it appears to be truncated. (Dont take my word for it, but it doesnt sound like much else)

psychophage
04-05-2004, 05:57 PM
so, in the flash window, all I have is this "urlencode" thing, so I don't know where to put the php..... :(
And I don't know anything in flash.
The only languages I know are javascript ( still a beginner, though ) and HTML....
I'm really new at php programming and flash....
Sorry if I wasn't very clear....
I put the link to the GB, hope you don't mind....
Maybe that way, you can see what I mean...
Guestbook (http://enfantsdelo.free.fr/guestbook/guestbook.html)

psychophage
04-06-2004, 10:02 PM
anyone ?
If this is flash actionscript, does anyone know about it ? :confused:

dswimboy
04-07-2004, 12:02 AM
I believe this is a Flash problem. It doesn't have anything to do with ActionScript. explain the problem to whoever designed the guestbook FlashApp for you.

Your flash object is either not large enough, or the text is not wrapping. The only way i know how to fix this is with Macromedia Flash, or whatever Vector Animation software you are using.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum