...

View Full Version : Netscape vs. Mozilla



rmedek
03-22-2004, 01:12 AM
Hello all...

Any ideas why a javascript would work in Netscape and not in Mozilla? I thought the two interpreted javascript in the same manner... I'm a beginner at this, so I'm just looking for ideas or tutorials that could help me get started, I'm using a DD script and would like to learn how to deconstruct it and make it work.

Thanks for your help, if you're curious about the specific problem, the page is http://richardmedek.com.

-Rich

Willy Duitt
03-22-2004, 01:19 AM
Hi Rich;

There is no javascript on the index page you posted or the next page (current).
Is this a scavenger hunt type of thing? :D

.....Willy

rmedek
03-22-2004, 01:48 AM
whoops, sorry, it's external :o Here's the link, it's a DD slideshow script:

http://richardmedek.com/slideshow.js

Thanks,

Rich

liorean
03-22-2004, 07:42 AM
It seems to work for me. What moz version are you running? What does the JavaScript Console say?

glenngv
03-22-2004, 07:54 AM
When you mention Netscape, you have to specify the version. NS4.x is totally different with NS6+

NS6+ and Moz are both based from Gecko while NS4.x is based from old Netscape engine.

rmedek
03-22-2004, 07:33 PM
... everyone's patience w/ me is greatly appreciated :)

I'm using NS 7.1 and Moz 1.6, both for Mac OS X. The JS console doesn't give me any errors when I view the page. The script starts with an image, then fades to another, then another. Works in NS and IE win, so I'm surprised it wouldn't work in Moz. Are there differences in the way current versions of the browsers interpret JS?

-Rich

liorean
03-22-2004, 07:40 PM
Shouldn't be especially much of a difference. It a WFM in FireFox 0.8 (which should be equivalent to Moz1.6) for me.

rmedek
03-22-2004, 11:52 PM
What is WFM? Sorry, I'm new to this...

In Firefox 0.8 (mac) it doesn't work for me either...

-Rich

liorean
03-23-2004, 05:05 PM
WFM = Works For Me

It works in firefox 0.8, and moz 1.6 on the win side. (fade)
It works in op7.5 on both platforms. (no fade)
It works in msn/osx, saf1.2 on mac. (no fade)
It does not work in moz 1.6 or firefox 0.8 on mac. (should fade?)

So, why might this be?

Try alerting values you set in the script before and after their setting, including types. Do the same to assure that the elements you are working with are the right ones.




On a second note, you're using opacity in moz, but not in saf. Saf1.1 supports a property -khtml-opacity and saf1.2 supports opacity.

Garadon
03-23-2004, 05:21 PM
<--secretly wishes they would all bloody call opacity the same thing :)
stupid having to set it for each browser.

liorean
03-23-2004, 05:28 PM
Garadon:
Mozilla calls it -moz-opacity for two reasons:
One: It wasn't a CR, PR or Rec when they included it.
Two: Now that it is a CR, they still call it -moz-opacity because it's buggy.

Safari called it -khtml-opacity before [CSS3Color] became a CR and opacity afterwards, for the same reason as reason one for Mozilla. This pattern of vendor-specific naming for non-recommendation properties is W3C sanctioned.

rmedek
03-27-2004, 08:59 PM
Thanks everyone for your help, and especially for the safari tip...

I am a complete newbie at the entire Javascript thing, but now that I have some info I can hit the tutorials with a mission :) Any recommendations?

-Rich

liorean
03-27-2004, 09:30 PM
Well, I do keep a nice little list, though it may take some time to sift it through...



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum