...

View Full Version : making a popup "always" on top



ggallen
03-18-2004, 08:11 PM
What parameter would I pass (for IE) to keep a pop-up
always on top?

FastCougar
03-18-2004, 08:15 PM
In the body line of the popup window add:
onBlur="self.focus();"

ggallen
03-18-2004, 08:24 PM
Hmm. Didn't give an error, but didn't keep it on top either.

<HEAD>
<TITLE>Check Full Name</TITLE>
</HEAD>
<BODY onBlur='self.focus();'>

is how the pop-up starts....

FastCougar
03-18-2004, 08:30 PM
try window.focus(); instead ;)

ggallen
03-18-2004, 08:37 PM
no. still won't stay on top.

Here's the problem

The parent page spawns off a small pop-up,
if someone accidentally clicks anywhere outside the popup
window, the parent window becomes focused.

and you have to click on the toolbar at the bottom to
refocus the pop-up window.

I thought there was a parameter you could pass when you
open the window that would keep it on top...

George

glenngv
03-19-2004, 04:41 AM
If your target browser is IE only, you can use Modal or Modeless dialog boxes (http://www.webreference.com/js/column90/).
Mozilla also has modal window. - http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=30267
In that link, there's a post that linked to a simulated modal windows that work cross-browser.

JohnKrutsch
03-19-2004, 04:45 AM
You could try continually setting focus:

<body onload="setInterval(window.focus()',200)">

fredmv
03-19-2004, 04:49 AM
John's solution should work fine (assuming you correct the slight syntax error) though there isn't really a need to continually request focus. Listening for an onblur event and then waiting a small amount of time before requesting focus should do the job. See: http://www.webdevfaqs.com/javascript.php#altpopupfocus.

glenngv
03-19-2004, 04:55 AM
That would be annoying because you can't focus to other opened applications. You only bring the focus back to the popup if the focus is currently in the parent window not in other applications. I think that's what the author did in the link that I mentioned in my previous post.

fredmv
03-19-2004, 04:59 AM
Good point Glenn. The most practical solution would likely be to check if it's IE, if so, use showModalDialog; if Mozilla, use openDialog. Though, it would be nice if there was some kind of universal method or parameter that could be used&hellip;



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum