...

View Full Version : Fatal error: out of dynamic memory in yy_create_buffer()



divinecharm
03-16-2004, 07:23 AM
Hi !

I run a classifieds site. Everything was running fine until today when I saw the following error message on one of the pages that displays all classifieds.

Fatal error: out of dynamic memory in yy_create_buffer() in /path/to/php/script on line 344

I can't figure out what's going on.

Here is some info about my shared server:

memory_limit: 40M

SERVER["REDIRECT_DBENTRY"] contains the value
#MEM 10240

Please let me know what I should do.

Thanks,
James

ConfusedOfLife
03-16-2004, 07:53 AM
maybe I'm not good enough for answering your question, but what is yy_create_buffer() ?? I searched the documentation and I couldn't find it, so, it's not a function, right? Plus I don't understand what you exactly mean by a classified site.

firepages
03-16-2004, 08:06 AM
I think you should be directing this question at your host , what database are you using ? + do you always get this message or just occaisionally ?

divinecharm
03-16-2004, 08:37 AM
I am using MySql and PHP. Its a B2B exchange and Members can post trade leads.

I think yy_create_buffer() function has something to do with Apache.

Today, this error occured for the first time. It seems it occured because of the increase in the number of trade leads posted. The page actually displays the leads but does not display the page numbers.

The error occurs in the function that I defined to calculate the total number of pages of trade leads (with 10 trade leads displayed on every page). The pages are supposed to be displayed at the end of the page as follows:

<-- Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next -->

However due to the error the whole page loads but the above pages numbers are not displayed. What is the best way to calculate and display pages like above ?

Note: I just noticed that now the error message is not displayed. However the page numbers have disappeared.

firepages
03-16-2004, 12:52 PM
whats the query you are using to get the total count can you post it ?

raf
03-16-2004, 01:13 PM
(i think he'll be using a "select * " or "select ID" or something similar to grab the complete table and then use a mysql_num_rows() to get the count)

The problem is that you run out of memory during scriptexecution. Your script probably allocated the 40M but if you are using an unefficient way (for instance not using a "select count(*) from table" ) to get some date or prepaire some output, then that will be filled when the table grows.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum