...

View Full Version : Layout using CSS



ce-ce
03-07-2004, 09:40 AM
I am making a website which currently uses frames and a bit of CSS. I must admit I am a bit of a beginner when it comes to CSS, but I am thinking of redoing the site without frames. Would I have to repeat the menu on each individual page?

I believe there have been other threads how to successfully achieve this with css but I havent been able to find them doing a search. Can anyone point me in the direction of the relevant thread or to a good tutorial? I might also mention some pages on the site will in the future be using ASP too and I would like to know if this will pose any problems with the layout.

Site is www.noborders.nl (http://www.noborders.nl)

Mr J
03-07-2004, 12:09 PM
Take a look at the following

www.huntingground.freeserve.co.uk/scripts/page_update/p_update1.htm

This may give you some idea of one way it can be done

me'
03-07-2004, 01:14 PM
How I will be doing it is I have one big echo command written in PHP to write out all the headers and stuff I need, and at the top I write this:

<?php require 'lib.php'; echo_headers(); ?>

Which includes the source code and calls the function that spews out my header. Then after all the content I have this:

<? echo_footer(); ?>

Which echos out all the code that needs to appear after the content (footer, sidebar).

ce-ce
03-07-2004, 01:37 PM
I kinda get the idea, you just add a reference to a script (php or javascript or whatever) and put this in every document. Is this then the best way? I have dreamweaver and notice you can make a template with editable and ineditable regions (though I havent yet figured out how to get it working). Has anyone used this, or have any opinions about doing it this way?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum