View Full Version : Auto-populate fields?

08-05-2002, 07:45 PM
I would like to auto-populate a webpage that the browser returns from a URL I submit.

The data that I use should be from a text area adjacent to the webpage that needs populating.

Once the 20 data items are entered I would like to click on a hyperlink given on the form.

I do not know the ID's of the input fields or the link.

Any suggestions for java script code to handle this situlation.

The data is firstname and email address that is in comma separtated format. (or could be put in most any format)


08-05-2002, 10:14 PM
Uhhh, you've lost me. Try to explain it again with more detail, and use mockup references (i.e. "page1.htm submits to page2.htm...)

08-05-2002, 10:39 PM
I want to enter some firstnames and email addresses into a webpage that already exists. The webpage asks for 10 sets of name/email information and after that is entered in, a submit link needs to be clicked.

I have the data that I need to enter currently in a spreadsheet (Excel) but I can get it in any format required. I need a java script that can take 10 sets of the data, apply it to the form, and then click the submit button.

Then another blank page of 10 names/email addresses is presented and the process starts all over again.

The web service that I use (entry form) does not have a batch or import function that can handle the data entry. Therefore, I need a script that can automate the process.

Thanks in advance for your help.


08-05-2002, 10:45 PM
Well, you can just duplicate the form onto a local page and create arrays from your Excel data to fill in the fields. How many records do you have? (10 at a time, right?)

08-05-2002, 10:49 PM
Every month I have about 500 name/email pairs.

I don't need to fully automate it, just enter the name/email stuff into the form, and I can press the submit button. Or whatever is the easiest.

08-05-2002, 11:16 PM
Wow. That's not really a small task, I don't think. And probably too large to cover in this forum. If (big if) I have the time, I'll talk to you more about this. You could accomplish this much better with PHP. Do you know PHP?

08-06-2002, 03:52 PM
Yes, I do know PHP and I have a website that I can run it on.


08-06-2002, 04:04 PM
Well, heres a link on to another forum post (http://www.sitepointforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=70659) that I helped with a while back that in shades...is similar to what you are doing. Check it out and let me know...