View Full Version : How can you view css source?

Robin Clark
02-22-2004, 04:13 PM
I hope that this isn't a dumb question. Is it possible to view the source for an external stylesheet? How do you do this?

I know how to view the html source (right-click on the page and choose "View Source". But when the html references an external stylesheet:

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" href="layout.css">

I am most interested to see the layout.css code.

I am new to css and I feel I have only scratched the surface of this tool.

Vladdy
02-22-2004, 04:16 PM
In the address bar delete the name of the page and type in the content of the href attribute
Or
Use the Save As feature of your browser to save all page files to a local folder.

liorean
02-22-2004, 04:18 PM
The easiest way would be to use a bookmarlet such as my ViewStyles bookmarklet. Go to <http://liorean.web-graphics.com/> and drag the ViewStyles bookmarklet to your personal bar/links bar, and then click it when you want to see the external stylesheets used on a page.

Vladdy: Using the Save As feature would give you only the styles that iew understands, if that happens to be the browser you're using. Other browsers will give the real source, though.

Robin Clark
02-22-2004, 04:40 PM
For example, I go to www.robinzclark.com/header.css (http://www.robinzclark.com/header.css)

I know that this file exists because I put it there. I get the error message: "Access to the specified device, path or file is denied"

Here is the html source:

<LINK REL = "stylesheet" TYPE = "text/css" HREF = "header.css">

When I try the ViewStyles bookmarklet, I get a dialog asking me whether I want to save the program or run it. I say to run it and I get an jscript error message: "document is undefined". What am I doing wrong?

Robin Clark
02-22-2004, 04:45 PM
For example, I go to www.robinzclark.com/header.css (http://www.robinzclark.com/header.css)