...

View Full Version : How to get rid of lines between table cells?



kippie
02-17-2004, 08:36 PM
In the HTML below I made thick lines as the border of the table. But I would like to have no borderlines between the table cells while in the page below there are thin lines between cell 1 and 2 and between cell 2 and 3. How can I get rid of these lines?

This is the HTML:

<html>

<head>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=iso-8859-1">
<meta name="generator" content="Adobe GoLive 4">
<title>Welcome to Adobe GoLive 4</title>
</head>

<body>

<table bordercolor="#880000" border="10" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td width="60%">cell1</td>
<td width="102">cell2</td>
<td width="126" valign="top" align="right">cell3</td>
</tr>
</table>

</body>
</html>

Kippie

Roy Sinclair
02-17-2004, 08:41 PM
<html>

<head>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=iso-8859-1">
<title>Welcome to a simple though not complete fix for the pathetic code from Adobe GoLive 4</title>
<style type="text/css">
table { border: solid 10px #880000; }
</style>
</head>

<body>

<table>
<tr>
<td width="60%">cell1</td>
<td width="102">cell2</td>
<td width="126" valign="top" align="right">cell3</td>
</tr>
</table>

</body>
</html>

kippie
02-17-2004, 09:07 PM
Thanks Roy this is fast! But I have a problem I didn't realise. In fact I use more than one table in the HTML, and I would like to have a border only in one table and not in the other (and you style code makes borders in all tables as I understand it correctly).

This is a HTML with 2 tables:
<html>

<head>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=iso-8859-1">
<title>Welcome to a simple though not complete fix for the pathetic code from Adobe GoLive 4</title>
<style type="text/css">
table { border: solid 10px #880000; }
</style>
</head>

<body>

<table>
<tr>
<td width="60%">cell1</td>
<td width="102">cell2</td>
<td width="126" valign="top" align="right">cell3</td>
</tr>
</table>

<table>
<tr>
<td width="60%">cell4</td>
<td width="102">cell5</td>
<td width="126" valign="top" align="right">cell6</td>
</tr>
</table>

</body>
</html>

Kippie

Roy Sinclair
02-17-2004, 09:10 PM
Add a class, then you can use that with multiple tables but only when needed.



<html>

<head>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=iso-8859-1">
<title>Welcome to a simple though not complete fix for the pathetic code from Adobe GoLive 4</title>
<style type="text/css">
table.fatBorder { border: solid 10px #880000; }
</style>
</head>

<body>

<table class="fatBorder">
<tr>
<td width="60%">cell1</td>
<td width="102">cell2</td>
<td width="126" valign="top" align="right">cell3</td>
</tr>
</table>

<table>
<tr>
<td width="60%">cell4</td>
<td width="102">cell5</td>
<td width="126" valign="top" align="right">cell6</td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>
</html>



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum