...

View Full Version : Tables in a frameset...blank images



His Eminence
02-15-2004, 12:53 AM
OK... in process of developing a page. I have nested tables. In these nested tables are a few images. The Code:


<body bgcolor="2C2C39" leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" rightmargin="0" bottommargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
<table width="192" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td><img src="/images/sidenav/nav_header.gif" width="192" height="6"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td background="/images/sidenav/nav_bg.gif">
<div><A HREF="challenge2004.htm"
ONMOUSEOVER="changeImages('nav_challenge2004', 'images/sidenav/about/navmain_challenge2004-on.gif'); return true;"
ONMOUSEOUT="changeImages('nav_challenge2004', 'images/sidenav/about/navmain_challenge2004-off.gif'); return true;">
<IMG NAME="nav_challenge2004" SRC="images/sidenav/about/navmain_challenge2004-off.gif" WIDTH=192 HEIGHT=24 BORDER=0 ALT=""></A>
</div>
<div><img src="/images/sidenav/nav_divline.gif" width="192" height="2" border="0"></div>
<A HREF="resources.htm"
ONMOUSEOVER="changeImages('nav_resources', 'images/sidenav/about/navmain_resources-on.gif'); return true;"
ONMOUSEOUT="changeImages('nav_resources', 'images/sidenav/about/navmain_resources-off.gif'); return true;">
<IMG NAME="nav_resources" SRC="images/sidenav/about/navmain_resources-off.gif" WIDTH=192 HEIGHT=24 BORDER=0 ALT=""></A>
<div><img src="/images/sidenav/nav_divline.gif" width="192" height="2" border="0"></div>
<A HREF="links.htm"
ONMOUSEOVER="changeImages('nav_links', 'images/sidenav/about/navmain_links-on.gif'); return true;"
ONMOUSEOUT="changeImages('nav_links', 'images/sidenav/about/navmain_links-off.gif'); return true;">
<IMG NAME="nav_links" SRC="images/sidenav/about/navmain_links-off.gif" WIDTH=192 HEIGHT=24 BORDER=0 ALT=""></A>

</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><img src="/images/sidenav/nav_footer.gif" width="192" height="6"></td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>

The problem is that, when I preview it in Dreamweaver, everything works fine. But when I publish or view it independently from DW (double-clicking the HTML on the hard drive and opening in IE), the nav_header, nav_footer, and nav_divline images do not show up, and instead there are just blanks.

Any help appreciated...

Examples:

http://eminence.olddh.com/theticksv3/test3.htm

I want it to look like the side navigation shown on this site (dont shy away just because its 2a):

http://www.2advanced.net/index.php?content=/company/aboutus.php

lavalamp
02-15-2004, 01:56 AM
This is just a wild stab in the dark, but have you made sure that your images are all referenced correctly. I have not looked at your code or your page and I know nothing of dreamweaver, it's just that when you said, "My images aren't there" (or words to that effect) little alarm bells started ringing in my head.

newmand2
02-15-2004, 10:36 AM
Yeah thats what id say seeing as the <img> tag is set out correctly etc. doesnt the attributes have to be lowercase to be semantic as well? but thats not imprtoant here

me'
02-15-2004, 12:43 PM
Originally posted by newmand2
doesnt the attributes have to be lowercase to be semantic as well? To be standards correct yes (in XHTML, which he's not using anyway). Not to be semantic.

lavalamp
02-15-2004, 12:55 PM
Eventually people will have to start using XHTML because so many other developers will be using it (being better and newer), XHTML 2.0 will be released soon while has a few extra elements.

People will also need to get themselves a proper browser sooner or later, IE is dead now, I reckon that over time most people will become aware of Mozilla Firefox (unless it changes it's name ... again :p) and start using that. DHTML will all but be replaced with XHTML 2.0 and CSS 3 although JavaScript 2.0 might well have a few surprises in store.

Back on topic now, I don't think that the code posted is very consistant. It looks as though the three image links in the middle have been created using Front Page and everything else by dreamweaver. Anyone else think this?

His Eminence
02-15-2004, 07:36 PM
re: lavalamp and newmand2,

It seems like it was. I moved the missing images into the same directory as the html file, then changed the links to reflect, and it worked! Don't know why though...

http://eminence.olddh.com/theticksv3/about.htm

Re lavalamp:

Yes, most of the code is Dreamweaver. But everything else is actually ImageReady's default Rollover code put into place. :)

lavalamp
02-15-2004, 07:56 PM
Happy to help. :)

But what's ImageReady?

His Eminence
02-15-2004, 08:09 PM
ImageReady comes with Photoshop. Its useful for handling image slices....

Edit:

I found out why it didn't work: the slash. I think i forgot to mention that the page is in a frameset. Well, "/images/line.gif" does NOT work the same as "images/line.gif". The extra slash makes a huge difference. :D

lavalamp
02-15-2004, 08:15 PM
I don't understand why people use uneccesary code in their pages. The ./ or / before the sources of images falls under this heading. Also, capitals in code, why? It makes the code look messy with the jumple of different caps and all it does is hinder you when you have to hold down the shift key.

</rant>

I'm glad you've solved your problem.

Nightfire
02-15-2004, 11:37 PM
./ and / aren't uneccesary at all, ./ means from the directory you are currently in, while / means from server/domain root



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum