View Full Version : Browser Test

squirellplaying
02-09-2004, 02:31 AM
I need a function that will display an alert if the user is not using Internet Explorer.

glenngv
02-09-2004, 02:49 AM
if (document.all) {
//IE
}
else {
//not IE
}

Can you elaborate what exactly do you want to do?

fredmv
02-09-2004, 02:58 AM
Might want to do:
if(typeof clientInformation != 'undefined')
{
// success
}

else
{
// fail
}Since document.all also exsits under Opera. I believe clientInformation only exists under IE; and, if you're wondering, it's exactly the same as the navigator object...

squirellplaying
02-09-2004, 03:00 AM
Basicly I made a page to do mol conversions for chemistry, but it only works in IE. This is probably due to the fact that I'm new to javascript so it's messy. But I want an alert saying the page will only work in IE. Thanks for the code. I should be able to get what I want out of that. I think.......

Edit: Thanks I got it working.

glenngv
02-09-2004, 03:43 AM
mol conversion is just about math and there seems to be no reason to make it worked in IE only. Maybe you referenced the field names by specifying their names only?

var x = fieldNameHere.value;

This works in IE because IE makes the field names and ids as global objects. :rolleyes:

Please correct me if I was wrong in my assumption.

squirellplaying
02-10-2004, 08:42 PM
That is basicly what I did. But even my main page which has no math on it does not work. I did
var fMolW = document.getElementById('blah').value

<html>
<head>
<style>
span{
text-align:right;
color:black;
font-weight:bold;
}
</style>
<title>Chem</title>

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="style.css"/>
</head>
<body>

<div id="findRepParticles">

<span id="input">
<form>

Mass of G<input type="textbox" value="0" id="massG"/> <br />
Molar Mass of G<input type="textbox" value="0" id="molarMassG"/> <br />
Number of moles of W<input type="textbox" value="0" id="molW" /> <br />