...

View Full Version : divs in NS



zoobie
01-31-2004, 08:24 PM
Uhhh...why aren't my top divs scrolling in NS? All the rest do. The ones in bold don't scroll and I've used background-attachment:scroll in the body tag...Thx

<div style="text-align:center">
<div style="margin-left:auto; margin-right:auto;width:778px">

<img src="img/mine5.jpg" width="788">

<div style="position: absolute; top:3px; left:415px"><span class="header">FENCE EXPERTS</span><br><span style="font: bold 18px tahoma">Residential & Commercial Fencing</span><h1>Serving<br>Erie Lafayette Louisville Broomfield Superior<br>Colorado</h1>
</div>
<div style="position:absolute; top:168px; left: 145px;font:bold 20px arial;color:white">SPECIALIZING IN QUALITY CEDAR PRIVACY FENCES</DIV>

main content div's...these are ok

</div>
</div>
</body>
</html>

mindlessLemming
01-31-2004, 10:58 PM
Can you put the page up so we can see it (not) working?

zoobie
02-01-2004, 03:00 AM
http://doof.us/fence/
Thx

liorean
02-01-2004, 03:32 AM
Because of a cascade of bad choices:
- You use overflow: auto: in the body element, which means it will size to it's containing box (the html element), which in turn sizes to the viewport (= window). This also breaks the scroll wheel in moz.
- You use position: absolute; on the div, which makes it position relative to it's closest positioned ancestor. There is no such ancestor, which means it positions according to the html element. This is the equivalent of fixed positioning, and would do the same in all of op7, ie5m, saf and ie6w if you used standards rendering mode instead of quirks rendering mode.
- You specify the heading background on another element than the text, instead of using the same element.
- You use a DOCTYPE throwing browsers into quirks mode.
- You use non-semantical markup.
- You haven't validated your markup and stylesheets.

zoobie
02-01-2004, 07:19 AM
Any better now? I think I was missing a few divs. Thanks

mindlessLemming
02-01-2004, 07:25 AM
"SPECIALIZING IN QUALITY CEDAR PRIVACY FENCES"
Is still locked to the viewport.

zoobie
02-01-2004, 08:02 AM
What browser? It's scrolling in NS7 now...Thx :o

mindlessLemming
02-01-2004, 08:16 AM
All good now :)
I tested it in NN 6.1 and Moz 1.6.

zoobie
02-01-2004, 09:59 AM
Ugh...Nutscrape. Now, my page main content isn't fitting...and the image is stuck in the cache even though I've emptied it and refresh several times. Can anyone see it it's displaying correctly in NS? Anything else need to be done to the code? Thanks

zoobie
02-01-2004, 06:46 PM
So, the absolute positioning's ok now?
And how do you empty the image stuck in NS's cache? Nothing's working. Thx

"This Page Is Valid HTML 4.01 Strict!"

liorean
02-01-2004, 07:01 PM
Go to the image URL and there use Force Reload (CTRL-F5).

zoobie
02-01-2004, 07:18 PM
ugh

liorean
02-01-2004, 07:21 PM
And you say this is ns7 only? Because it sure doesn't sound like it's a browser fault, it sounds like a proxy server cache problem. Try to add "?whatever" to the end of the file name when you request it and see if that helps. If it does but the regular C-F5 does not, you should see if you can disable the proxy.

[:Edit:] You edited away your post. Does that mean it works?

zoobie
02-01-2004, 07:36 PM
Wowser...NS doesn't even like spans much at all...What a lame browser...No wonder they cut back on development with 1% using it.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum