View Full Version : Problems uploading files on server farm

01-26-2004, 02:44 PM
I'm trying to upload some files using PHP to our webserver, which is a server farm of about 8 - 10 servers. Sometimes the upload works just fine and all is well, while other times, it seems as if the file is not uploaded.

Now, I know that these servers are replicated across each other, and the tmp.upload.dir is c:\tmp\phpupload.

Other things: I don't have direct access to the server to verify any files are being written to the tmp directory. So, I use is_uploaded_file to check and see if it's uploaded and if it is, copy to my location. The error I keep getting is a false return from is_uploaded_file. This, seems to tell me that the file is not being written to the tmp directory.

Now, usually, I'd think it could be a bug in my code (always my first thought because the admins don't like to be told it's on their end), but since it works sometimes and not others, I tend to rule out this problem.

Next, I thought it might be a network issue, so I asked other users to try to upload files. They experienced the same results. Sometimes it would upload, other times not.

I've even tried making a simple script using the code from the PHP.net site. Same issues.

Since this is a server farm, I'm wondering if it's because the c:\tmp\phpupload directory is actually a mapped directory and changes location during replication processes. Is that possible? Anyone have any ideas what might be causeing this?


PS: Here's a sample of the code that causes problems. All looks good to me...

if (@is_uploaded_file($_FILES['uploadFile']['tmp_name'])) {
print $_FILES['uploadFile']['name']."<br />";
print $_FILES['uploadFile']['type']."<br />";
print $_FILES['uploadFile']['size']."<br />";
print $_FILES['uploadFile']['tmp_name']."<br />";
else {
print "No upload";

01-26-2004, 04:03 PM
How big are the files you are trying to upload? is the script timing out? Perhapps you are uploading files larger then the maximum allowed size? Do you get a error at all?

01-26-2004, 05:26 PM
Nope, it's not a file size issue, all the files are under 1MB. I'm getting the same errors I outlined in this (http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=31421) thread.

Any ideas? At first I thought it was my code, but now I'm really thinking its a server thing.

01-26-2004, 11:24 PM
try setting your temp dir to the following


it may have something to do with apache and other things not recognising the \ instead use the unix standard path /

hope that helps :)

01-27-2004, 12:36 PM
Actually, the server farm is an IIS / Wintel system so the upload directory should be ok. The issue is sometimes it works and sometimesit doesn't. Which makes no sense to me.

Any other ideas?