...

View Full Version : 'Expected hexadecimal digit' error



glenngv
08-02-2002, 03:00 AM
ive got these lines in my script and IE generates the 'Expected hexadecimal digit' error:

str += '<NOBR>&nbsp;User name:\n';
str += "&lt;&gt;&quot;\'&amp;\\user\n"; // <>"'&\user


But when the username has no word 'user' at the end, it's ok:

str += '<NOBR>&nbsp;User name:\n';
str += "&lt;&gt;&quot;\'&amp;\\\n"; // <>"'&\

it's weird! anyone knows the cause? :confused:

adios
08-02-2002, 03:10 AM
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/script56/html/js56jserrexpectedhexadecimaldigit.asp

Escape something (I'd guess).

glenngv
08-02-2002, 03:15 AM
Originally posted by adios
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/script56/html/js56jserrexpectedhexadecimaldigit.asp

Escape something (I'd guess).

thanks adios!

i followed the link, and in the Note section it says:

Note If you want to use the literal text \u in a string, then use two backslashes - (\\u) - one to escape the first backslash.

I already did it, didn't I?

str += "&lt;&gt;"'&\\user\n";

adios
08-02-2002, 03:23 AM
...not following your use of quotes here:

str += "&lt;&gt;"'&\\\n"; :confused:

glenngv
08-02-2002, 03:36 AM
Originally posted by adios
...not following your use of quotes here:

str += "&lt;&gt;"'&\\\n"; :confused:


ok here it is again, sorry for the wrong posts earlier.
i was confused with all the special chars :D

str += "&lt;&gt;&quot;\'&amp;\\user\n";


this forum escapes the entities i typed;
here it is again, hope it's now correct...

str += "&amp;lt;&amp;gt;&amp;quot;\'&amp;amp;\\user\n";

adios
08-02-2002, 03:45 AM
I recently sweated over some string-wrangling regex code and the escaping issue nearly did me in (\\\\\\/ - does that fly?). How 'bout....

str += '&lt;&gt;"\'&\\user\n';

Just getting vBulletin to render this stuff is a challenge...

why don't I just give you my phone number & you can describe it to me....

[yetanotheredit]document.wrote that string and - it's fine! No errors...[yetanotheredit]

glenngv
08-02-2002, 04:05 AM
i took the screenshot of the lines, it's difficult to getting vBullettin to render the correct code (sigh!).

I cannot immediately changed the string value because it is generated on the server-side (the code is in C), only the string delimeter. I changed it to single quote but still the same error occurs.

glenngv
08-02-2002, 06:05 AM
i have fixed the problem, i didn't realize there are other lines that had the \u which caused the error.
thanks adios for the time and for reminding me that there is such an error in IE.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum