...

View Full Version : Installing extensions



Mhtml
01-06-2004, 12:51 PM
I'm trying to install the html tidy extension from pecl.php.net but, I've never done this before and I'm completely lost :D ...

Using phpdev 4.2.3

mordred
01-06-2004, 01:13 PM
Which PHP version is included in phpdev 4.2.3? I believe it needs to be 4.3 or 5, see http://pecl.php.net/package/tidy

Anyway, an installation tutorial for Windows is availabe at John Coggeshalls site:
http://www.phphaven.com/archives/70_Tidy_for_Windows__PHP_4_now_available.html

Mhtml
01-06-2004, 01:15 PM
Oh goody a tutorial :) ... Thanks mordred!

Mhtml
01-06-2004, 01:22 PM
Ok, I had done it right the first time ... Everything in that tutorial is as I guessed it had to be however I need to upgrade php as my version is the same as my phpdev version (4.2.3) to a newer version ...... how?

mordred
01-06-2004, 02:58 PM
Ask your fellow moderator firepages to release a new version. :D
Or for a tutorial on how to upgrade only PHP.

Alternatively, you can try to install a recent PHP version yourself. At php.net there are extensive installation docs, you need to have Apache installed though, but Apache ships with phpdev, no? If so you could try it out to upgrade it.

Mhtml
01-06-2004, 03:12 PM
Okely dokely :) ... I'm off to php.net.

firepages
01-07-2004, 10:47 AM
doh :D phpdev434 is on the way ...this time with PEAR and all the PECL & GTK extensions ... but there is never enough time in the day innit!

as Mordred suggests , grab php 4.3.4 zip (not the installer) from php.net , then perhaps the easiest way is simply to,
extract somewhere safe
copy the new php directory over the top if (and overwriting) the /phpdev/php directory.
then copy the new /php/php4ts.dll to /php/sapi/php4ts.dll
restart apache

& volia !

Mhtml
01-07-2004, 10:51 AM
Yeah I think I PM'd you about upgrading, I figured it out a few minutes after that though :) ... Installed the tidy extension and got php running great ...

I do however have a new problem with not being able to access my server remotely.. The httpd.conf file has not been edited (to my knowledge) so as such I've not a clue why I can no longer access it via IP.

Also my firewall is turned off (well was ;)) when I was trying so it wasn't that.

[edit:] Did you watch the test match yesterday?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum