View Full Version : Installing extensions

01-06-2004, 01:51 PM
I'm trying to install the html tidy extension from pecl.php.net but, I've never done this before and I'm completely lost :D ...

Using phpdev 4.2.3

01-06-2004, 02:13 PM
Which PHP version is included in phpdev 4.2.3? I believe it needs to be 4.3 or 5, see http://pecl.php.net/package/tidy

Anyway, an installation tutorial for Windows is availabe at John Coggeshalls site:

01-06-2004, 02:15 PM
Oh goody a tutorial :) ... Thanks mordred!

01-06-2004, 02:22 PM
Ok, I had done it right the first time ... Everything in that tutorial is as I guessed it had to be however I need to upgrade php as my version is the same as my phpdev version (4.2.3) to a newer version ...... how?

01-06-2004, 03:58 PM
Ask your fellow moderator firepages to release a new version. :D
Or for a tutorial on how to upgrade only PHP.

Alternatively, you can try to install a recent PHP version yourself. At php.net there are extensive installation docs, you need to have Apache installed though, but Apache ships with phpdev, no? If so you could try it out to upgrade it.

01-06-2004, 04:12 PM
Okely dokely :) ... I'm off to php.net.

01-07-2004, 11:47 AM
doh :D phpdev434 is on the way ...this time with PEAR and all the PECL & GTK extensions ... but there is never enough time in the day innit!

as Mordred suggests , grab php 4.3.4 zip (not the installer) from php.net , then perhaps the easiest way is simply to,
extract somewhere safe
copy the new php directory over the top if (and overwriting) the /phpdev/php directory.
then copy the new /php/php4ts.dll to /php/sapi/php4ts.dll
restart apache

& volia !

01-07-2004, 11:51 AM
Yeah I think I PM'd you about upgrading, I figured it out a few minutes after that though :) ... Installed the tidy extension and got php running great ...

I do however have a new problem with not being able to access my server remotely.. The httpd.conf file has not been edited (to my knowledge) so as such I've not a clue why I can no longer access it via IP.

Also my firewall is turned off (well was ;)) when I was trying so it wasn't that.

[edit:] Did you watch the test match yesterday?