...

View Full Version : Frames question



lucid
01-03-2004, 04:21 AM
Hi Everyone,
I'd like to create a web page with several websites in it
so that they can all be viewed as once by scrolling down.
I'm looking to create something like www.quickbrowse.com
I'm wondering if there's a way to do this using frames
i.e. have a frameset with each of the frames having the
appropriate web site as the src. But I'd like the frames
to take up as much space as needed to display the
entire page of the website. Then I could just use the
scrolling of my browser window to scroll down to the
appropriate frame.
Any ideas if/how this could be done ?
I've tried the following but, obviously, it doesn't work
since the scroll bars are individual to each frame.
I'd like for the frames themselves to have no scrollbars
but to extend downwards in the page and then to have
just a single scroll bar to scroll down the page to
access all the sites (as in www.quickbrowse.com)

<html>
<frameset rows="33%,33%,33%">

<frame src="http://www.cnn.com" />
<frame src="http://www.google.ca"/>
<frame src="http://www.yahoo.com" />

</frameset>
</html>

Any other suggestions for how this could be accomplished ?
Javascript ? JSP ?
Thanks :)

Vladdy
01-03-2004, 03:55 PM
While there are ways to accomplish what you are trying to do, I think this is one of the silliest ideas I came across lately.
If one wants to load favourite sites at once here are 3 simple steps to accomplish just that for free:
1. Install Mozilla Firebird
2. Add your favourite sites to a Bookmarks folder
3. Click "Open in tabs"
:thumbsup:

lucid
01-03-2004, 04:54 PM
thanks, I didn't know Mozilla could do that.
But it's still tabs tho... I need scrolling...
more accurately, my boss needs this feature,
and I need to get it done yesterday :rolleyes:

me'
01-03-2004, 05:45 PM
If it's going to be online, it'd be easier with PHP:
echo implode('', file('http://www.cnn.com'));
echo implode('', file('http://www.google.com'));
//etc.Possible problems with relative paths and permissions.

lucid
01-03-2004, 06:01 PM
Ive never used PHP, but isn't that like a simple include ?
just wondering if that'll cause a problem due to the
multiple HTML tags in each of the pages ?

Is there any way at all to do this in HTML ?
or how about Javascript or JSP - I'm quite familiar
with those.
Thanks :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum