View Full Version : excel script doesn't work over internet

07-31-2002, 08:59 PM

I don't know very much about javascript, so I need your help.
I downloaded a script from Microsoft, that can generate and open excel files on the fly. when I click on the webpage on my hard disk everything works. But when I go there by a link over the internet it doesn't work. I get the error icon in my status bar.
I think I know the line that is causeing the error:

var oXL = new ActiveXObject("Excel.Application");
Am I not allowed to run Active X stuff over the internet?
Also, when I open the page in Opera (over the internet) I get an error dialog box saying:

The server tried to set a cookie for a domain with no registered IP address. For security reasons, this is not acceptable, and the cookie has therefore been rejected

You might want to ask the site's webmaster to create an IP address for the domain specified in the cookie
What does this mean?

Here (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;EN-US;q234774&) is the link to the full script. It is a realy cool and usefull script (My personal opinion)

Thank you for reading


08-01-2002, 03:29 AM
When Microsoft was developing the ActiveX controls, their choices for names were 'ActiveX' and 'ReallyBigSecurityHole'. So, realizing that every annoying little script kiddy in the world would use these controls if they could, they made it so that IE's default security settings block ActiveX. Generally speaking, you can only get ActiveX to work on a closed Intranet. ActiveX is also an exclusively IE thing, and won't work in any other browser.

08-01-2002, 04:20 PM
Hi Joh6nn,

thanks for replying. Actualy the script is for a company's intranet. so the general public won't have access to it. I'm creating a database with php and mysql as sort of final year project for school. and that script would be very handy to display and export statistics comming from the database. that is why I want to use it. I adjusted some options in IE like you said and now it works. all the PC at the company have a Windows licence so they all have IE.

thanks for helping, much appreciated:thumbsup: