...

View Full Version : How fast can javascript be?



seb
12-23-2003, 04:05 PM
I'm currently working on a site that might require the populating of a dropdown, to the tune of 2000 entries or so. I might also try to add functionality where the contents of the <select> change as a user types, so they can narrow the list down.

Is it possible to make this sort of thing execute at an acceptable speed? My current tests say "no" but I know my code is far from the best - should I bother persevering or just give up?

cheers

Choopernickel
12-23-2003, 04:24 PM
Instead of changing the options in the select element, why not try to use the TypeAheadCombo (http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9865&perpage=40&pagenumber=3) class I made, based on a bunch of stuff written by this board's own illustrious glenngv?

It's easy to implement, and it'll work on any select element, whether created in the HTML of a page or by scripting.

seb
12-23-2003, 04:34 PM
Very interesting chooper, I guess I should have guessed someone would have done this before :)

sage45
12-23-2003, 07:46 PM
Oh I see... Glenngv is the only illustrious person here huh... :confused:... But but but what about me... :p

Nice code, btw... :D

-sage-

scroots
12-23-2003, 07:54 PM
seb put your code in a .js file or in several e.g. one for your code and another for oyur dropdown options.

this will enable the script to be cached by the users browser.

scroots

jkd
12-23-2003, 11:26 PM
Rendering is slow. If you must populate HTML elements on the fly with lots of children, either create a new replacement in memory, then replaceChild() when it is populated, or maybe try setting display to "none" before populating, populate, then change it back to "block" or whatever.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum