...

View Full Version : How to do line-breaks in PHP?



Jan
12-12-2003, 11:00 AM
Hey all!

I have this problem. I've made a website using some PHP:



<div id="wrapper">
<?php include("header.php") ?>
<div id="middle">
Here's the actual content
</div>
<?php include("footer.php") ?>
</div>


I have several div's in the header a footer files, and these are tabbed. Then, when I upload the files and check the sourcecode, they don't have line-breaks where they should. I know this isn't that serious, but I want my code to look okay! So, is there a way of putting line-breaks in PHP? Thanks for any help!


~Jan

requestcode
12-12-2003, 01:34 PM
You would use "\n" to force a line feed like this:
print "some content \n";

Nightfire
12-12-2003, 02:50 PM
Also, to do a tab, use \t

Jan
12-15-2003, 10:08 AM
Thanks for your replies! One question though, how would I make this work, if I'd want it to be XHTML 1.0 Strict compliant? I mean, I can't use "" for the id's (eg. <div id="blablabla">) if it's inside print(""). Is there a solution for this?


~Jan

raf
12-15-2003, 10:29 AM
you can escape the double quotes with \, like


print("<div id=\"blablabla\"> \n") ;

Jan
12-15-2003, 02:29 PM
Thanks everybody for your replies! Got it all to work just fine :)


~Jan

fimi
12-15-2003, 08:14 PM
or you can also use
$var = ' " content" ' ;
it would print "content".
i use that when i have to print sth like that...adding \ makes me sad.:thumbsup:

raf
12-15-2003, 09:23 PM
Originally posted by fimi
or you can also use
$var = ' " content" ' ;
it would print "content".
i use that when i have to print sth like that...adding \ makes me sad.:thumbsup:

It might be just me, but i've never managed to get a linebreak when i have
'whatever"bb"bbdsd"nn" \n'
I always prints the \n as characters
try
print '<a href="content.php">test</a>\n' ;
and then
print "<a href=\"content.php\">test</a>\n" ;

and you'll see that in the form you suggest, the \n is printed as actual text and is not parsed to generate a linebreak.

But then again, it's maybe just me that doesn't know how to do it with the single quoted strings.
I normally also use single quotes for printing xhtml

Nightfire
12-15-2003, 09:27 PM
I've seen it done with single quoted string before, but I can't remember how it was done, it was something weird like



$str = 'this is a line '.".\n.";


If I can find it again, I'll post it, the above doesn't look right though

raf
12-15-2003, 09:35 PM
echo 'this is a line '."\n";

would do the trick (since you'de then just use a double quotes and concatinate it with the single quoted string.
Might be easier when printing xhtml the the backslashing.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum