...

View Full Version : Off but not on? Why?



pigtrough
12-03-2003, 05:34 PM
Hi,

I host a website www.pigtrough.com now offline on my localhost the guestbook works fine, but online it doesn't work, does anyone know why this is?

Sam

Spookster
12-03-2003, 06:24 PM
That's easy. Your host either doesn't support PHP or they have it disabled or turned off.

I would advise you right now to remove any PHP files containing things like database login information because anyone can currently access those files since the PHP files are not being parsed by a PHP engine. Example:




<?php


// phpBB 2.x auto-generated config file
// Do not change anything in this file!

$dbms = 'mysql4';

$dbhost = 'localhost';
$dbname = 'phpbb';
$dbuser = '***********';
$dbpasswd = '**********';

$table_prefix = 'phpbb_';

define('PHPBB_INSTALLED', true);

?>



I've starred out your username and password so as not to give it to everyone but you get the idea. That was from your forum by the way. This would also apply to your guestbook.

Your solution would be to either find a host that supports PHP or if your current host does support PHP then contact them immediately and inquire as to why it is not currently running.

pigtrough
12-03-2003, 06:25 PM
But, I know it supports php, how do I enable it?

If it is disabled?

Spookster
12-03-2003, 06:34 PM
Is this your own server that you are in control of?

pigtrough
12-03-2003, 06:35 PM
Yes, I own the .com... And it doesn't work online but it does on the localhost, so, it is working, but I dont know what the problem is...

Spookster
12-03-2003, 06:47 PM
I'm not talking about the domain name. The domain name doesn't have anything to do with the problem. Is the server (the computer which has the web server software and is where the website files are) physically located in your home or office? Are you the administrator of that server?

pigtrough
12-03-2003, 06:50 PM
yes I am, I own the computer files and web server etc... It is in my room, now....

Spookster
12-03-2003, 07:03 PM
Ok. How did you install everything and which web server are you using? Apache or IIS? If Apache did you did you install Apache, MySQL and PHP seperately or did you install one of the many ready made packages that include all of those and installs everything for you?

pigtrough
12-03-2003, 07:05 PM
It nis pache, and I used phptriad to install all of them

Spookster
12-03-2003, 07:22 PM
I've never used PHPTriad. I currently use IBServer which i've found to be much easier to work with.

Although this is not my area of expertise my guess is your problem is going to have to do with an Apache configuration. You said it works find locally but as soon as you go through the Internet PHP no longer works. Might be some kind of permissions problem. Firepages might have more insight to this problem since he develops his own ready made package called PHPDev and deals with issues like this. Maybe he will pop his head in here later.

pigtrough
12-03-2003, 07:29 PM
Ok thanks for that... I will try other servers....

Spookster
12-03-2003, 07:54 PM
Keep in mind they are not different servers. PHPTriad, PHPDev, IBServer and others are just bundles of software typically including Apache, MySQL, PHP, Perl, and various forum software and such and usually come with some kind of control panel to control everything. The configuration of Apache and PHP and MySQL in each of these bundles may be different but all use the same software.

firepages
12-04-2003, 04:22 PM
errr confused ... ;)

a quick scan of your domain name shows that you are running Microsoft-IIS 5 , not apache , at least not on port 80 , and no other ports show activity , so you best have another look at your machine.

If you have apache running (ctrl-alt-delete to be sure) then you need to shut down IIS (some may suggest uninstall b4 its too late ;))

pigtrough
12-04-2003, 05:20 PM
How do i uninstall IIS????

If that is my problem....

firepages
12-04-2003, 05:51 PM
Hi ok , well dont uninstall just yet .. its working , so perhaps just turn it off for now (somewhere in control panel > administrative tools)

of course you have the option to run PHP via IIS though I know that many ready-made scripts just wont work on IIS!

so decide whether you want to use apache or IIS for serving your web-pages.. I know >.< about IIS though I am sure others here can help.

but if Apache , check the installation of your apache/PHP/MySQL setup actually works by trying to start apache

(at a DOS prompt)
cd c:/path/to/apache/bin
(for apache 1.*)
apache -k start
(for apache 2.*)
apache -n apache -k start

if you get no errors go to http://localhost and tell us what you see, if you get errors then tell us what they are , if you get no errors but still no apache try
apache -t
which will run a syntax check on your apache config.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum