...

View Full Version : frames and status bar



katlas
07-28-2002, 05:15 AM
Is there any way to 'hide' the statusbar message (have it be blank) using a script on a page with frames - I know I could do it on with window open when I call the page, but would really like to do it on the page if possible. Here is what I have:

<HEAD>
<FRAMESET ROWS="1,*" BORDER="0">
<FRAME SCROLLING=NO SRC="" FRAMEBORDER="0">
<FRAME SCROLLING=AUTO statusbar=no SRC="http://www.mypage.com" FRAMEBORDER="0">
<FRAME SRC="x">
</FRAMESET>

</head>

<body >
</body>
</HTML>

I've tried the 'hide status message' script from javascript kit, and also tried setting defaultStatus -- but nothing seems to make any diff to the status bar. HELP!

Kathy

Cloudski
07-28-2002, 05:27 AM
Well, I think you have to do this for EVERY link.. :



<a href="wherever.html" onMouseOver="status=' '" onMouseOut="status=' '">Text..</a>


I may have made a couple of errors.. But, I think you kinda get the idea :thumbsup:

joh6nn
07-28-2002, 06:30 AM
did you try defaultStatus in the page with the frameset?

katlas
07-28-2002, 06:49 AM
I've tried defaultStatus in the page with the frameset - nothing happens - I had it in the head section - didn't try the body.
I don't want to mess with the page in the second frame, so the onmouseover won't work.....

Kathy

Cloudski
07-28-2002, 07:21 AM
Hmm, well... instead of leaving the src blank on the top frame, make a page like this:



<HTML>
<HEAD>
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
<!--
var statBarMsg " "
function statuschange()
{
window.status = statBarMsg;
setTimeout("startStatusScroller()", 0)
}
//-->
</script>
</HEAD>
<BODY onload="statuschange()";>
</BODY>
</HTML>


Hope that works :thumbsup:

Cloudski
07-28-2002, 07:27 AM
Oops :o

Ok, you need ot make a change...

startStatusScroller() needs to be statuschange()

Sorry ;)

Pooh
07-28-2002, 07:30 AM
http://javascriptkit.com/script/script2/hidestatus2.shtml

joh6nn
07-28-2002, 07:33 AM
try this in the frameset page:

window.onload = function() {
status=";
defualtStatus='';
}

in theory, that will wate till all of the frames have loaded, and then set the status to nothing, so that should take care of it. if it doesn't then i'm out of ideas

katlas
07-28-2002, 06:55 PM
Cloudski - you are a genius -- many thanks!!

Kathy:)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum