...

View Full Version : Free hosting, no ads.



LearningCoder
12-06-2012, 04:37 PM
Hi,

I am looking for a free domain without ads and have searched google high and low.

I am wondering if anyone knows of a hosting site with no ads. I have an account at 000webhost but it only allows me to upload filesizes of 5mb at a time which is not enough as even with my site zipped it comes to around 7mb. I had an account over at 0fees.net but I think it has been hacked or something because I can't seem to delete anything from the domain, it just gives me an error. I was trying to delete the old version of my site, so I can upload the new improved version but as I said it is giving me errors (which it has never done before).

Can anyone help?

Edit: Hmm strange, it seems it is now deleting what I want but since deleting the site from the domain, it will no longer reload for me to access the file manager. :s

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards,

LC.

Custard7A
12-06-2012, 11:42 PM
Perhaps freehostia.com (http://www.freehostia.com/index2.html)? I haven't used it myself.

Coding Start
12-07-2012, 07:25 AM
I think if you want to use free hosting service, its should be review about advantages and disadvantages. For long term purpose, very recommended to use paid hosting service.

LearningCoder
12-07-2012, 09:48 AM
Eventually I will be getting paid hosting but while I am still developing, I'd rather use free hosting because I think it could be a while yet before I am ready to go live.

PS - Thank you custard for the link!

Regards,

LC.

Custard7A
12-07-2012, 11:07 AM
Be careful when developing on free hosting. As with developing on a local server, or in a program, you will tend to work around your environment instead of controlling it. By-and-by when you want to step your site up to hosting with options your code might have quirks associated with being created in a supressed kind of environment, and aren't those fun to debug.

I'm not saying it's a bad idea, lots of people do it I'm sure, but be aware. :thumbsup:

LearningCoder
12-07-2012, 11:29 AM
Thanks very much for your guidance. I remember when I put a different site live because I wanted to test mailing, and ran into many many errors. I posted here and said how can it be possible to work locally and not live and I was told there are many factors to consider and just because it works on one doesn't mean it will work on another.

Do you work on the live version of a site even in development then?

Kind regards,

LC.

Redcoder
12-07-2012, 12:51 PM
In development, many do work on it live. Some though prefer to work on the Local Server on their PC's.

They work on it live by making sub-domains like testenvironment.mydomain.com and maybe restricting access to it to IPs from the LAN at work, developers home IPs so that they can work from home. You can also simply make a sub-directory and restrict access to it. Many new websites don't bother to have restrictions as they have never been discovered before.

Custard7A
12-07-2012, 01:07 PM
I do indeed. I might use Dreamweaver from time to time, but as soon as I have enough structure to start worrying about debugging I will move it to the live environment.

Well, not that I have ever created a website. I run tests to learn things, occasionally I host files there when I am feeling lazy. Good hosting doesn't have to be expensive; I only pay $30 a year, and that includes domain registration. I can find $30 a year in the gutter. :thumbsup:

As Redcoder mentioned, if you're worried about it being live that people will see it, no need. As well as being many easy ways to protect against that, it is also rather redundant on new site. You will find how challenging getting people to come to your site really is later on.

LearningCoder
12-07-2012, 03:45 PM
In development, many do work on it live. Some though prefer to work on the Local Server on their PC's.

They work on it live by making sub-domains like testenvironment.mydomain.com and maybe restricting access to it to IPs from the LAN at work, developers home IPs so that they can work from home. You can also simply make a sub-directory and restrict access to it. Many new websites don't bother to have restrictions as they have never been discovered before.

So pretty much I could potentially start developing from scratch live, and chances are no one will even discover my website? It would seem a lot easier to me to just work live all the time, then again it would have to be paid hosting because I'm sick of little bugs which creep up. For instance, sometimes when I'm browsing my live version, i'll be going through the pages and randomly I get php error messages come up so I reload the site and it could happen anywhere between 1-20 times, then all of a sudden it starts working again. Not sure if it is actually something to do with being free hosting but I don't see any other sites doing that randomly. My code seems to be all in check as well.

My php works locally and live (considering sometimes it does work, I wouldn't have thought it was my php). Next time they come up, I'll copy and save it. I've just tried for 5 minutes but funnily enough it won't come up when I need it to!!

Thank you for your reply.

Kind regards,

LC.

LearningCoder
12-07-2012, 03:49 PM
Well, not that I have ever created a website. I run tests to learn things, occasionally I host files there when I am feeling lazy. Good hosting doesn't have to be expensive; I only pay $30 a year, and that includes domain registration. I can find $30 a year in the gutter. :thumbsup:

That seems cheap enough for a year and wouldn't mind paying it.



As Redcoder mentioned, if you're worried about it being live that people will see it, no need. As well as being many easy ways to protect against that, it is also rather redundant on new site. You will find how challenging getting people to come to your site really is later on.

I've always thought about that and realized it must be so hard to get, for instance, your ranking on google to be on the first however many pages. Doesn't the ranking depend on website 'hits/views'?

Kind regards,

LC.

Redcoder
12-07-2012, 05:34 PM
No...Google ranking only depends on hits to a very small degree. Search SEO and you'll get google guys explaining stuff like how to increase your page rank.

Working on free hosts has numerous disadvantages. Like some stuff is restricted like SMTP, number of requests you can make per minute to your site and database. E.g you cannot test an AJAX driven chat web app that makes a lot of requests on a free host.I did that a some time back and my app kept crashing, took me a while to figure out that my code had no problem.

LearningCoder
12-07-2012, 06:06 PM
number of requests you can make per minute to your site and database.

You know I think that could possibly be it because I hosted it yesterday and have put on a couple of different forums asking for some criticism on the way it looks etc so maybe that is the cause.

Kind regards,

LC.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum