View Full Version : Javascript module not wokring

12-05-2012, 08:45 PM
Hi All,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask but hope you can help me out. I'm building a new website in Joomla and created my template and menu with jquery. Now i installed a module called widgetkit that has a lot of javascript code. The module should display a rotating banner or tabs but it's not showing anything the problem is that it does show when i put the default template on.

I'm not a javascript expert but i think it has a conflict with another thing that is running.


Hope someone can help me out.

Kind Regards,


Old Pedant
12-05-2012, 08:51 PM
Use your debugger and look at the error console.

Chrome debugger, for example, shows these errors:

not found: resource://jid1-ryetb1dajacauw-at-jetpack-paypal_wishlist_and_notifier-data/stylesheets/notifications.css

Uncaught TypeError: Object [object Object] has no method 'slideshow' widgetkit-5bdb987f.js:14

So your "notifications.css" does not exist, so far as the browser can find it.

And you have an error in the JS code, as noted. No idea why the JS error. You will probably have to ask the widgetkit people.

12-05-2012, 09:14 PM
Thank for your reply.
I checked my firebug but i can't really find what's wrong. I installed another slideshow module and it also doesn't appear.

TypeError: jQuery(...).show(...).nivoSlider is not a function
[Break On This Error]

afterLoad: function(){} });

rrdesign.nl (line 162)

TypeError: a.slideshow is not a function
[Break On This Error]

...en"),d=a.find(".wk-slideset").css("visibility","hidden"),e=d.find("ul.set > li")...

I also don't know why he is searching for a notifications.css as i don't know where that line is coming from.

12-05-2012, 09:23 PM
you are using mootools and jquery on the same page, this can cause conflicts. read this sticky for more : http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=271898

12-05-2012, 09:45 PM
Thank you for that, removed some stuff have to find a way to make it work.

had to remove:

<script type="text/javascript" src="<?php echo $this->baseurl ?>/templates/<?php echo $this->template ?>/includes/jquery.js"></script>

From the index2.php now everything is working.