View Full Version : Uploading ASP Website To Server

11-01-2003, 03:10 AM
I am am designing my website with ASP and it have a database to store record.
When I upload this onto the server, is it necessary for the server to have Microsoft Access in it or can it do without it.
If I did not have Microsoft Access installed in the server, can my website still be running, otherwise is there any other suggestion?


11-02-2003, 01:28 AM
Actually you don't have to have access installed on the server!

It works ok without it, I've done it before. :)

But you're better off using SQL Server unless this is a very small application.

11-02-2003, 04:53 AM
Indeed, you don't need Access installed, just ADO. See my comments in this thread:

11-02-2003, 04:49 PM
Hi Whammy and M@rco,
My site is just a simple shopping cart.
Currently running on Access. especially for the first 3 to 6 months is to monitor how well the response is.
Then will I replace the database with Microsoft SQL.
From your explaination, which mean I can just simply upload the whole site onto the server with having MS ACcess installed in it, is there any others requirements I have to take look?
Do I need to have MS database extension, and etc,
And will my site run well by uploading through Frontpage extension or FTP?

11-02-2003, 06:26 PM
It depends on whether the code is using an ODBC DSN or a more direct means (i.e. JET4 OLEDB) to access the database .mdb file. If it's using a DSN you will need to recreate this on the server, but frankly you're much better off editing the DB connection string to use the JET4 OLEDB driver to load the DB directly, since this gives you significant performance & scalability improvements as well as removing the need for the DSN.

11-04-2003, 04:24 AM
Agreed. Don't use front page extensions at all (or anything to do with front page!) if you can avoid it.

IMHO front page is just proprietary garbage that should be avoided at all costs. :) It DEFINITELY doesn't give you any advantages. I can say that with authority (having never used it).

If you want I can give you some very simple working ODBC (dsn-less) connections for ASP and Access databases - IMHO the only difference, for simple/beginning use, anyway (besides SERIOUS scalability., cron jobs, etc.) between using an Access Database and SQL Server is making sure your Access database is not downloadable from the web- in other words, store it in a directory ABOVE your root folder, and access is using Server.MapPath() or (less desirable) a hard-coded path.

Access really shouldn't be used for a database app, but for small-scale applications it's acceptable I suppose, as long as you don't allow your database to be downloaded from the web. That's why you'd need to keep it above your root folder, anyway.

I've gone into this subject before, and I'm quite sure you can find relevant references, but you really should use a REAL database (i.e. SQL Server, MySQL, or Oracle) instead of Access.

08-15-2009, 06:14 AM
I know this is a old post sorry for hijacking it..
but I have the same issues..

I have mysql and uploaded my files.. to my new server.. Somehow my page is messed up, my hosting tech support said I need a database.

I looked at all my folder.. found db folder is empty..

how can my database be empty?

setting says..

' mySQL Server 3.51 local
pDatabaseConnectionString = "Driver={MySQL ODBC 5.1 Driver};Server=localhost;

other then just add my site name and re upload setting.asp?
what do I need to do to get a database?

It loads localhost just fine with mysql...

THx in advance

08-15-2009, 11:31 AM
I realise from your low post count that you're new here but your question has absolutely nothing at all to do with this thread, your situation is very different in all respects, and you should repost it in the MySQL forum instead.

Old Pedant
08-16-2009, 12:21 AM
Note that *usually* you will *NOT* see your MySQL DB as part of your website. Usually, the MySQL DB server has not connection with your web hosting server. You can *NOT* just upload MySQL files. You have to install your data into the server that your host provides you.

*Probably* need to ask your host how to upload MySQL data to their db servers.

08-30-2009, 10:38 AM
Actually you don't have to have access installed on the server!

It works ok without it, I've done it before. :)

But you're better off using SQL Server unless this is a very small application.But not all server offering SQL server and also some are offering but not possible to export DB from local to online.. I hosted in godaddy shared.. they not allow to connect online db to local.. so need to build table one by one , exporting data also not possible. So m using access DB just upload it and enjoy