...

View Full Version : Got the SQL stuff working but, PLEASE DEAR GOD HELP



dominickm
10-31-2003, 02:18 AM
Got the SQL stuff working but, PLEASE DEAR GOD HELP
First off I admire you genuises who know this script like the back of your hand.... That said please help.

I downloaded this snazzy little polling script from http://proxy2.de/scripts.php

So far it is wonderful. I was able to setup the MySQL part of it and then install the script from the very limited directions that came with the scripts. I am able to log on the admin part on my website which is here

I made a temporary password so whomever may browse it.

http://www.heydom.com/poll/admin/index.php

username: admin password: temp

I made two sample polls, but now I am at my witts end.
I haven't the foggiest idea how to get the polls into a webpage, where to link anything, where the polls actually are, how to customize, what all that code is... Basically I am dying but not giving up.

I have come this far and been at this all day now. Please Please help me. I just want to be able to make simple polls and know how to display them in my webpage.

Oh and please dont talk to me like I know what I am talking about, because I dont. I pale in comparison to the code intellect you all have.

Thank you in advance and sorry about the long biography but I am desperate.

Dom

SDP2006
10-31-2003, 02:28 AM
Geniuses? It was right there under "HELP" in the control panel


<?php
include_once "/mnt/web_a/d09/s43/b01b5e82/www/poll/booth.php";
echo $php_poll->poll_process(x); // x = Poll ID
?>


Replace X with the poll id.....

dominickm
10-31-2003, 02:30 AM
Where in the code area does that go, I am using Frontpage lol, yes you heard me frontpage

and thank you for your quick response

SDP2006
10-31-2003, 02:31 AM
Paste that wherever you want the poll to show up!

dominickm
10-31-2003, 02:32 AM
but I replace x as the poll id then do I save it as php, do i need to do anything else

SDP2006
10-31-2003, 02:33 AM
seems like that is all to me :)

dominickm
10-31-2003, 02:35 AM
can it be an htm file or does it have to be php and I have to have the file on the server in order to see the poll correct?

I apologize about my inexperience

SDP2006
10-31-2003, 02:42 AM
you have to a have a php enabled server to view it which you obviously do because you have the admin set up. you need to rename the file .php. for instance if it was index.html or .htm you'll need to rename it to index.php

Nightfire
10-31-2003, 03:12 AM
When using php, you're better off using a normal texteditor instead of frontpage, as frontpage can screw your php coding up

missing-score
10-31-2003, 03:31 AM
there is a really good one, i fink you can download it from C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE :P j/k

there is one called scintilla or something like that, http://www.scintilla.org. Ive heard it is very good. I use dreamweaver for PHP as i like the colouring.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum