...

View Full Version : can I run php on my computer?



Mhtml
07-27-2002, 11:52 PM
Can I run php on my computer? I have pws but it didn't seem to do a thing.

mouse
07-28-2002, 12:15 AM
http://www.firepages.com.au :thumbsup:

Never found PWS useable tbh, I've used phpdev since version 3 which uses apache, fine for development.

Mhtml
07-28-2002, 12:31 AM
hmmm....Now Spookster's sig makes more sense, wasn't firepages in the old WA forum?

Thanks Mouse.

Spookster
07-28-2002, 01:29 AM
Huh what? :p

Mhtml
07-28-2002, 04:15 AM
lol.

Mhtml
07-29-2002, 09:47 AM
well, I got phpdev but I can't figure out how to get my php pages to load. I have started apache and everything but it just doesn't seem to do anything.

Also I can't use IE to goto http://localhost and 127.0.0.1 seems to be only working for PWS and well....Hmmm I don't know what to say next really. I think I will just uninstall it and stick to asp and learning C.

QuackHead
07-29-2002, 04:17 PM
In PWS, try stopping the service...

I can't remember how to do this, because it's been an eternity since I used PWS (Made the switch to Win2000/IIS when I figured out after about a week of ASP development that PWS is a terrible excuse for a web server).

There should be a button on the Main (or General or whatever the default tab name is) that says "Stop service" or something of the sort.

Let me know if that helps.

~Quack

Spookster
07-29-2002, 06:33 PM
As quackhead mentioned you should shut down PWS while running Apache. Otherwise they fight over who get's control. Once you go Apache you never go backy.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum