View Full Version : Beginner: Why won't my script work??

Mishelm
11-20-2012, 03:00 AM
Please help me!! I am an absolute beginner with javascript. I can not seem to make this script work and am frustrated and not sure what i am doing wrong!! Can some kind soul help me? I want the script to check to make sure the user city is filled in and if not alert them. Should be simple, why can't I make it work?? AAARGHH
<code>
<script type='text/javascript'>
function required()
{
var empt = document.forms["form"]["userCity"].value;
if (empt == "")
{
alert("Please input a Value");
return false;
}
}
</script>

</head>
<body>
<h1> JavaScript Form Handling</h1>
<form name="jsform" method="post"
action="http://webdevfoundations.net/scripts/formdemo.asp"
onsubmit="return validateform();">
<p>
<label for= "userName">Name: </label>
<input type="text" name="userName" id="userName"><br />
<label for= "userAge">Age: &nbsp;&nbsp; </label>
<input type="text" name="userAge" id="userAge"><br />
<label for= "userCity">City:&nbsp;&nbsp; </label>
<input type="text" name="userCity" id="userCity">
</p>
<p>
<input type="submit" value="Send Information" id="submit" />
</p>
</form>
</code>

Logic Ali
11-20-2012, 03:32 AM
It would be easy to point out your error, but as the error console is doing it already, why ask?

Mishelm
11-20-2012, 05:21 AM
It would be easy to point out your error, but as the error console is doing it already, why ask?

What part of beginner did you not understand. I do not know what I am doing that is why I am in here asking. I thought someone might, just might be kind enough to help me. Obviously that someone is not you. Have a nice day.

felgall
11-20-2012, 06:17 AM
Which browser are you using?

In Firefox you can get to the error console by going into the "Tools" menu and then into the "Web Developer" sub-menu.

It is in a similar location in other browsers.