...

View Full Version : Help with HTML codes for navbar dropdowns



Elishiva
11-16-2012, 10:59 AM
Hi. I'm new to this website. And new to html. I was wondering if someone would look at my website and please give me a code that would get rid of the ugly grey and black backgrounds on my navbar when you hover over the links. Here's my website: here (http://womenofturah.webs.com/) Thanks very much.

Also I have another question. I'm not sure if anyone will be able to answer it. About a week or two ago I added a skype button application to my sidebar, and then tried to put the link to my website onto my Facebook wall, and it started giving me a security code to put it up. I'm assuming it's from having the skype button on it. But I removed it that very day, and it's been almost 2 weeks now and it's still not fixing itself. Is there anyway that anyone can figure out how to fix it?

Thanks again, very much.
Elishiva

Excavator
11-16-2012, 04:36 PM
Good morning Elishiva,
You have a background image for the hover effect on that menu, img/menu-hover.png

That image isn't there so, instead of your image, an "image not found" .gif loads instead. That's the black that you're seeing.
The gray seems to be coming from a gradient background ... also on the hover but I can't seem to tell if it's on the anchor or the li.

Check to make sure your path and spelling are correct for menu-hover.png.

Elishiva
11-16-2012, 08:13 PM
Excavator thanks so much for your reply. I do understand what you're saying, but I can't seem to find anything that even remotely says menu hover ping, to even try to correct it. Do you think that you could tell me how or where to find it? And if so, can you help me to figure out how to get rid of it? And the grey, could we change to pink? This is frustrating since I am barely touching the surface of learning css. I love how the websites going, this is the last step though, and Ive been struggling with it for a week now.

Also, do you have any clue about the other thing I mentioned? The skype connection and how or what I'd do to actually get rid of it totally? I can't get thru to skype..ever. And my own website support stinks so bad that they keep telling me that they can't do a thing for me, and to contact skype. OY!

Excavator
11-16-2012, 08:17 PM
Excavator thanks so much for your reply. I do understand what you're saying, but I can't seem to find anything that even remotely says menu hover ping, to even try to correct it. Do you think that you could tell me how or where to find it?


In base.css, lines #188, #196 and #200

#fw-mainnavwrap ul ul li:hover {
background: transparent url(img/menu-hover.png);
}

#fw-mainnavwrap ul ul li a:hover {
background:none !important;
}

#fw-nav-menu a:hover {
background: transparent url(img/menu-hover.png);
}

#fw-nav-menu a.fw-current-nav-link {
background: transparent url(img/menu-hover.png);
display:block;
}

Excavator
11-16-2012, 08:21 PM
Also, do you have any clue about the other thing I mentioned? The skype connection and how or what I'd do to actually get rid of it totally?

I'm afraid I don't see a sKype connection in your sidebar on http://womenofturah.webs.com/

Elishiva
11-16-2012, 08:40 PM
Is it safe to just remove those png's you highlighted in red? Or do I replace them with something?

Elishiva
11-16-2012, 09:03 PM
Here are the codes that I see. I don't see the hover pngs that youre referring to. Please help me straighten this out. Thanks so much.

http://pastie.org/5389462

Elishiva
11-16-2012, 09:07 PM
I dont see the background hover pngs that you're talking about. It's as if theyre in hiding or something. I pasted the css codes into pastee website and tried to paste the link to it here but it didnt work. I dont know how to get you the picture or the note with the codes that I see on it.

*Edit. Sorry I didn't realize it had to be monitered and okay'd first before that one went up onto the site. So you'll eventually get the pastie site with the codes that I see.

Again, thanks for your help.

Elishiva
11-16-2012, 09:08 PM
Link with codes (http://pastie.org/5389462)

Excavator
11-16-2012, 11:18 PM
That screencap you put up is showing .design.css
The hover affects for your menu are found in base.css though I can't see from my end how that file is loaded.

It looks like you've made the background all pink? It matches your color scheme now :thumbsup:

Elishiva
11-16-2012, 11:32 PM
A friend of mine fixed it for me So I dont have any issues anymore. But thank you all you did to try to help! I do appreciate it alot.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum