...

View Full Version : Adding dropdown at last minute



charisma44
11-14-2012, 09:29 PM
I'm building this website, and now I've decided to add a dropdown menu to my Destination tab. How do I do this? :)


http://www.cjwebconsulting.com/destination/index.html

Excavator
11-15-2012, 01:14 AM
Hello charisma44,
You already have CSS in place for what looks like a MegaMenu ...

Make your markup look like this to start taking advantage of what's in your CSS now -
<ul id="menu">
<li><a href="index.html">Home</a></li>
<li><a href="destination.html">Destination</a>
<div>more stuff</div>
</li>
<li><a href="resources.html">Resources</a></li>
<li><a href="comments.html">Comments</a></li>
<li><a href="contact.html">Contact</a></li>
</ul>


See a simple MegaMenu example (http://nopeople.com/CSS%20tips/Claire'sMegaMenu/index.html) here for some ideas. (for some reason :confused::confused: I put the MegaMenu on the thumbnails instead of the ul menu at the top. Not sure why, it's not very intuitive that way ... I'll be fixing that sometime soon.)

charisma44
11-15-2012, 01:35 AM
You have me a little that you have dive tags in it.

<div>more stuff</div>

Excavator
11-15-2012, 01:56 AM
You have me a little that you have dive tags in it.

<div>more stuff</div>

Yes, like I said...because that's what's already in your CSS. Where did you get

#menu li div {
position:absolute;
display:none;
width:570px;
padding-bottom:16px;
border:5px solid #000;
border-top:0;
border-radius:0 0 26px 26px;
top:46px;
background-color:#fff;
box-shadow:10px 10px 10px #666;
}
#menu li:hover div{
display:block;
}

charisma44
11-15-2012, 02:02 AM
I got it now. I just have to fix it so it's on column of a drop down and not a three column drop down. Thanks



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum