...

View Full Version : dropdown menu issues



sixrfan
11-13-2012, 08:29 PM
if you look at the source code of this site this site (http://robgoldman.com/) there should be a dropdown list of offices below the Contact Us button in the top nav. however i cant get them to appear. i realize that I have a display:none on the .sub-menu if you use firebug, you'll notice that when you take that off, the items do appear, but not in the form of a dropdown.

so how do i get them to appear direction below Contact Us when someone hovers over Contact Us.

to give some background, this is a wordpress theme that was built before 3.0 so i've had to do tinkering to get wordpress 3.0 menus to appear, but obviously not formatted correctly.

please advise. thanks in advance!

Excavator
11-13-2012, 11:18 PM
Hello sixrfan,
You are not being specific enough in your CSS. You need to style the dropped ul differently than the ul menu the user sees before he mouses over anything.

I didn't look very hard for a hover attribute that changes your .sub-menu from display: none; to block or something visible. Your use of !important (http://james.padolsey.com/usability/dont-use-important/) would likely override it anyway.

You use absolute positioning .sub-menu but you don't position it.
Your CSS has

#menu li {
/...
display: inline;
.../
This makes all li's inline, even though you don't want your ul li ul li inline.



Look at this simple CSS only dropdown menu (http://nopeople.com/CSS%20tips/CSS_dropDownMenu-noImages/index.html) for ideas.

sixrfan
11-14-2012, 12:12 AM
got it. thanks!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum