11-12-2012, 06:37 PM
Hi I am a volunteer youth coach trying to create a function that
will automatically create a team vs team schedule, any odd number
team would get a bye if needed.

$NumberOfGames = 10;//testing
$NumberOfTeams = 12; //testing

function Schedule($NumberOfGames, $NumberOfTeams) {
// I have been trying a while to get this, nothing works correctly
// I don't understand how push can help do this?.
echo $schedule;
}

Schedule($NumberOfGames, $NumberOfTeams);

Thanks
Sonny

Fou-Lu
11-12-2012, 07:07 PM
There isn't anywhere near enough information here. What are the rules for selection of games? I assume that its always one team versus another team, but what rules drive whom plays whom? Does a schedule adjust based on wins and losses?

sonny
11-12-2012, 10:05 PM
There isn't anywhere near enough information here. What are the rules for selection of games? I assume that its always one team versus another team, but what rules drive whom plays whom? Does a schedule adjust based on wins and losses?

Hi, No all teams play against each other the same amount of times over a 10 game
schedule, that's why I am having a hard time with it. I need to use functions I never used
before like pop push etc

what I want to do in theory is really simple, but the coding seems really hard
at least for me.

in the example below for simplicity sake

8 teams play each other over a 10 game schedule that's it, should I have a odd team
they would simply get a bye for that week that's about it.

I would need an array to feed the teams but am not sure what type would be best
because I don't know what built in php functions to use that might accomplish this.
$TeamNames = "team1","team2","team3","team4,"team5","team6,"team7","team8";

the function result should be something like
team1 vs Team9
team5 vs team7
team 2 vs team6
team3 vs team4

Week 1 example and so on for week two

in summery I want to create a simple 10 week schedule ( That's 1 game a week)