View Full Version : Error message: Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '' (T_ENCAPSED_AND_WHITESPACE),

dgunning
11-05-2012, 11:16 PM
I'm getting the above error message and I can't figure out what the problem is. Here's some of my code:

$db = mysql_connect("dgunning.db.8219830.hostedresource.com", "*****", "******");
mysql_select_db("dgunning", $db) or die(mysql_errno() . ": " . mysql_error() . "<br>");
$sql = "SELECT op.name, op.stnum, op.direction, op.street, arch.architect, op.yearbuilt, op.url, op.id FROM op, arch
WHERE op.archno = arch.archno AND op.stnum = htmlspecialchars($_GET['stnum']) AND op.direction = htmlspecialchars($_GET['dir']) AND
op.street = htmlspecialchars($_GET['street']);"

I'm getting the error on the $sql= line. I'm pretty new to using php, so would really appreciate any help. thanks!

elhippie
11-05-2012, 11:49 PM
got it, read it on another form, hopefully it works

$db = mysql_connect("dgunning.db.8219830.hostedresource.com", "*****", "******");
mysql_select_db("dgunning", $db) or die(mysql_errno() . ": " . mysql_error() . "<br>");
$sql = "SELECT op.name, op.stnum, op.direction, op.street, arch.architect, op.yearbuilt, op.url, op.id FROM op, arch
WHERE op.archno = arch.archno AND op.stnum = htmlspecialchars($_GET[stnum]) AND op.direction = htmlspecialchars($_GET[dir]) AND
op.street = htmlspecialchars($_GET[street]);"

the fix is with the ($_GET[]) functions, you gotta take away the ' ' around them

dgunning
11-05-2012, 11:57 PM
Thanks for the response. After making the change you suggest, I now get this error message:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '$result' (T_VARIABLE)

elhippie
11-06-2012, 12:05 AM
are you accessing another page using include (); cause its saying that $result is in the wrong spot. or your missing a ;, i'd have to see more code to help you

dgunning
11-06-2012, 12:14 AM