...

View Full Version : Force window size of frame pages



dominickm
10-24-2003, 01:35 AM
Hi,

I am new to this whole forum help thing but I am desperate.

What script would one use to force a page size for a page containing multiple frames not allowing the user to resize the window.

Also if the page is resized, the frames get thrown off and the content isnt displayed correctly which is why I need it to be a forced size for all resoultions without the option to resize the main window.

To view an example of the messed up version, here is the link

http://www.heydom.com/BH/Brutal.htm

If you resize the window you will see it mess up and the frames move. Please help me to fix this.

Thanks,
The novice

Basscyst
10-24-2003, 02:00 AM
Hi-

For the layout you have there I personally would use the <iframe> tag for my frames. Then you get set position:absolute; which would eleviate the problems you are having now. If you want to stick with the current layout here is a link to adjusting window properties.

http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/98/03/index3a.html

Basscsyt

dominickm
10-24-2003, 02:07 AM
Isnt there a way to make a window that is being resized not affect the page at all

Basscyst
10-24-2003, 02:12 AM
Yes -

<iframe src="MyPage.html" height=400 width=300 style="position:absolute;left:250px;top:150px;"></iframe>

This will make a floating frame on your page wherever you like just adjust the left and top pixels - you can have more than one on the page.

I can give you a more detailed example in a few, if you are still unclear.

dominickm
10-24-2003, 02:14 AM
I just want to make the main page holding the frames either locked into size position and unresizable or when resized the frames do not move

justame
10-24-2003, 03:20 AM
bas...
twouldnt thisss way... http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=28025 ...work tooo though???
aka the frame sizes twould just a remain® 'inplace' no matter what size the browser was resized to???

Basscyst
10-24-2003, 04:41 AM
Yes -

That would work as well, as it seems to be. . . I am just not a big fan of framesets.

justame
10-24-2003, 05:16 AM
bas...
just a ta® for the reply...:O))) /me just a wondered® 'cause doesnt netscrap have just a prob® with iframe???

Basscyst
10-25-2003, 07:32 PM
It may very well - I code for an Intranet that uses IE only. I forget about those things somtimes. I better start taking it into consideration more often as I am starting to venture into the world of actual web development. :o)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum