View Full Version : PHP hyperlink in mysql search result title

10-13-2012, 12:40 PM
Hi there,

I am currently attempting to edit a simple search form script. What I am wanting is for, when a search result is displayed, the title of the search result to be hyperlinked to the page.

I am not very good with PHP, thats why I am creating a simple 'free flash games' website to improve my skills. I want the user to be able to search for a game, and the title of the game to be hyperlinked - the title of the game will be hyperlinked by getting the url from the table, but I am not sure how to do this.

Heres my code:

include 'dbc.php';

// Set up our error check and result check array
$error = array();
$results = array();

// First check if a form was submitted.
// Since this is a search we will use $_GET
if (isset($_GET['search'])) {
$searchTerms = trim($_GET['search']);
$searchTerms = strip_tags($searchTerms); // remove any html/javascript.

if (strlen($searchTerms) < 3) {
$error[] = "Search terms must be longer than 3 characters.";
else {
$searchTermDB = mysql_real_escape_string($searchTerms); // prevent sql injection.

// If there are no errors, lets get the search going.
if (count($error) < 1) {
$searchSQL = "SELECT sid, sbody, stitle, sdescription FROM search WHERE ";
// grab the search types.
$types = array();
$types[] = isset($_GET['body'])?"`sbody` LIKE '%{$searchTermDB}%'":'';
$types[] = isset($_GET['url'])?"`surl` LIKE '%{$searchTermDB}%'":'';
$types[] = isset($_GET['title'])?"`stitle` LIKE '%{$searchTermDB}%'":'';
$types[] = isset($_GET['desc'])?"`sdescription` LIKE '%{$searchTermDB}%'":'';
$types = array_filter($types, "removeEmpty"); // removes any item that was empty (not checked)

if (count($types) < 1)
$types[] = "`sbody` LIKE '%{$searchTermDB}%'"; // use the body as a default search if none are checked
$andOr = isset($_GET['matchall'])?'AND':'OR';
$searchSQL .= implode(" {$andOr} ", $types) . " ORDER BY `stitle`"; // order by title.