View Full Version : Using PHP IF and SQL

10-08-2012, 01:39 AM
Hello , I am trying to achieve something like this :


mysql_query("SELECT * FROM userinfo WHERE IF timeleft = 0 THEN SET plan=0");


How can I do something like this with PHP or SQL?

10-08-2012, 03:48 AM
You mean like an update query?

UPDATE userinfo SET plan = 0 WHERE timeleft = 0


SQL has its own if/else handling, look into the case (http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/case.html) syntax. Much like a switch really.

10-08-2012, 04:44 AM
Well I want it to select the timeleft and if it equals 0 then it will set plan to 0 so some way of doing this

10-08-2012, 06:49 AM
Do you need to make use of them after the fact? You cannot issue a select and an update together (especially not in PHP since they are different DMS'). If you don't need to make use of them, you can simply update. Otherwise, select with a necessary where clause to capture the data, then issue an update.
Unless `plan` isn't a property?