...

View Full Version : IE10 document.images.SlideShow not working anymore



dubsdj
10-07-2012, 09:55 PM
Hi to my dismay IE10 has broken my website slideshow :( It works with every other browser on the planet except IE10 :( Is IE10 picking out a coding error ? Does anybody know what I can change to make it work again?

thanks



<script>
var slideShowSpeed = 3000
var crossFadeDuration = 39
var Pictures = new Array()

Pictures[0] = 'Images/Slideshow/2.jpg'
Pictures[1] = 'Images/Slideshow/3.jpg'
Pictures[2] = 'Images/Slideshow/4.jpg'
Pictures[3] = 'Images/Slideshow/5.jpg'
Pictures[4] = 'Images/Slideshow/6.jpg'
Pictures[5] = 'Images/Slideshow/7.jpg'
Pictures[6] = 'Images/Slideshow/8.jpg'
Pictures[7] = 'Images/Slideshow/9.jpg'
Pictures[8] = 'Images/Slideshow/10.jpg'



var t
var j = 0
var p = Pictures.length

var preLoad = new Array()
for (i = 0; i < p; i++){
preLoad[i] = new Image()
preLoad[i].src = Pictures[i]
}

function runSlideShow(){
if (document.all){
document.images.SlideShow.style.filter="blendTrans(duration=2)"
document.images.SlideShow.style.filter="blendTrans(duration=crossFadeDuration)"
document.images.SlideShow.filters.blendTrans.Apply()
}
document.images.SlideShow.src = preLoad[j].src
if (document.all){
document.images.SlideShow.filters.blendTrans.Play()
}
j = j + 1
if (j > (p-1)) j=0
t = setTimeout('runSlideShow()', slideShowSpeed)
}
</script>

dubsdj
10-07-2012, 10:21 PM
Just to say the actual problem with IE10 is now the slide show will not progress to the next slide...

Logic Ali
10-07-2012, 10:48 PM
Looks like some trash from Dynamicdive.

Try a global search and replace:

document.images.SlideShow

to

document.getElementById( "SlideShow" )

For this to work your <img> tag needs id="SlideShow"

If not, check the error console.

dubsdj
10-07-2012, 11:05 PM
Looks like some trash from Dynamicdive.

Try a global search and replace:

document.images.SlideShow

to

document.getElementById( "SlideShow" )

For this to work your <img> tag needs id="SlideShow"

If not, check the error console.


It is, but the fact it works (worked) is all I really am bothered about. I will try your suggestion and let you know if it makes a difference thanks.

dubsdj
10-07-2012, 11:12 PM
Your alteration made no difference. I checked the error console and found the following:

SCRIPT5007: Unable to get property 'blendTrans' of undefined or null reference
index.html, line 54 character 7

felgall
10-07-2012, 11:20 PM
Your code is trying to use proprietary filters that only earlier versions of IE supported.

dubsdj
10-07-2012, 11:24 PM
Your code is trying to use proprietary filters that only earlier versions of IE supported.

I know the blendtrans don't work on safari, firefox etc , however the slideshow still runs ok... so I was just wanting the slides to still move forward. Is that simply impossible with IE10 do you think using this script? Or is there an alteration I could use to possibly get it working again?

Logic Ali
10-08-2012, 12:02 AM
Your alteration made no difference. I checked the error console and found the following:

SCRIPT5007: Unable to get property 'blendTrans' of undefined or null reference
index.html, line 54 character 7

Just delete both

if( docment.all )
{
...
}blocks.

dubsdj
10-08-2012, 12:54 AM
Just delete both

if( docment.all )
{
...
}blocks.

Tried that, slideshow just sits there and doesn't progress to next image.

dubsdj
10-08-2012, 01:06 AM
I have implemented a CSS slideshow which works except one really difficult problem to solve.

my css dropdown menus are disappearing behind the slideshow image! Is there a way to say that the drop down menu is always on top?

thanks

dubsdj
10-08-2012, 01:09 AM
Just added: z-index:12000 to the dropdown CSS rule. works! Now a case of changing all of my pages :/



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum