...

View Full Version : layer to appear in parent window



Dean
10-13-2003, 04:29 PM
hi there

can anybody give me any idea how i can get a leyar to appear in the parent window from an Iframe.

I have a page with various animated layers on they display the layers in a randomly. so each time the page is loaded the page decideds which animated layer to show.

I want to include this option on a few different pages without having to stick the code on to all the pages as the code is fairly weighty.

So i want to run the layout generator page in a 1 by 1 iframe on the pages i want to add the layers too, this way the page loads as normal nice and quickly and the iframe loads the layer page and shows which ever layer it has decided on while the normal page is being loaded.

The probelm is at present the layers are appearing in the page in the iframe so can't be seen. is their any way for me to be able to tell the layers to appear in the parent window?

please help as my forehead is geting a reverse print of the keyboard!!!

cheers dean

Kor
10-13-2003, 05:02 PM
to call a function in a parent page, from a iframe, use

parent.that_function()

I use that succesfully :)

Dean
10-13-2003, 05:29 PM
hi there

i have tried the parent.script() to no avail.

here is the code for the page with the ifram in
#################################

<%@LANGUAGE="VBSCRIPT" CODEPAGE="1252"%>
<html>
<head>
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>

<body bgcolor="#CCCCCC">
<iframe src="masterlayercode.asp" name="myIframe" width="150" height="150" frameborder="0" id="myIframe" style="position:absolute; top:10; left:10; z-index:1" target="_parent">Sorry,
your browser doesn't support IFRAMEs</iframe>
</body>
</html>

###################################

here is the code for a the page appearing in the iframe with just a simple layer on top script on it. as the other page has to much script to put here but if you can get the code for the page below to show the layer in the page above without adding anything to the code above here it would help me out ans then i could see how it works.

code for the pager with the layer on it.
########################################

<html>
<head>
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/JavaScript">
<!--
function MM_findObj(n, d) { //v4.01
var p,i,x; if(!d) d=document; if((p=n.indexOf("?"))>0&&parent.frames.length) {
d=parent.frames[n.substring(p+1)].document; n=n.substring(0,p);}
if(!(x=d[n])&&d.all) x=d.all[n]; for (i=0;!x&&i<d.forms.length;i++) x=d.forms[i][n];
for(i=0;!x&&d.layers&&i<d.layers.length;i++) x=MM_findObj(n,d.layers[i].document);
if(!x && d.getElementById) x=d.getElementById(n); return x;
}

function MM_showHideLayers() { //v6.0
var i,p,v,obj,args=MM_showHideLayers.arguments;
for (i=0; i<(args.length-2); i+=3) if ((obj=MM_findObj(args[i]))!=null) { v=args[i+2];
if (obj.style) { obj=obj.style; v=(v=='show')?'visible':(v=='hide')?'hidden':v; }
obj.visibility=v; }
}

function tmt_DivOnTop(theDiv){
var t = 0;var z = (document.layers) ? ".zIndex" : ".style.zIndex";
var fun = (document.getElementById) ? "document.getElementById" : "MM_findObj";
var arr = (document.layers) ? document.layers : (document.all) ? document.all.tags("DIV") : document.getElementsByTagName("DIV");
for(var i=0;i<arr.length;i++){var oz = eval("arr["+i+"]"+z);if(oz > t){t = oz;}}
var obj = eval(fun+"(theDiv)");if(obj)eval(fun+"('"+theDiv+"')"+z+"=parseInt("+t+")+1");
}
//-->
</script>
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" text="#000000" onload="parent.tmt_DivOnTop('Layer1')">
<br>
<table width="50%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">

<tr>
<td>
<div id="Layer1" style="position:absolute; visibility: visible; z-index: 1; background-color: #FFFFFF; border: 1px none #000000;" left:150; top:150; width:350; height:250>
<table width="350" height="250" border="1" cellpadding="1" cellspacing="0" bordercolor="#CCCCCC">
<tr>
<td height="19" align="right" bgcolor="#999999"><strong onClick="MM_showHideLayers('Layer1','','hide')" style="cursor: hand">&nbsp;X
</strong></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="left" valign="top"><div align="center">
<p><strong>gfgcgcchfchgfhgfch<br>
<br>
jghjkhbjkbhkjvkghv</strong></p>
<p><strong>jghkvhhjcggjccgf</strong><br>
<br>
</p>
</div></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div> </td>
<td>&nbsp;</td>
</tr>

</table><br>
<br>
<br>
layer
</body>
</html>

########################################

you see i have put your parent.my_script but it has not worked.

any ideas

cheers

dean



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum