...

View Full Version : I have TEXTAREA form, i want to add DROP DOWN LIST BOX beside it,like prefix in forum



basketmen
09-24-2012, 10:35 AM
Hi guys

i have comment form code (in black colour) below, user type the comment in TEXTAREA, and click the Submit button

i want to add DROP DOWN LIST BOX before it, that user can choose, and add that DROP DOWN value with the text in TEXTAREA into database, so just like prefix in forum

i already tried below code (in red), but still not working, please help guys what is the right code





<div>
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">

$(document).ready(function(){

$("#form_submit").click(function() {
document.getElementById("form_submit").disabled = true;
checkcomment = trim(document.comment_form.message.value);

if (checkcomment.length > 0) {
var msgPrefix = document.forms["comment_form"].elements["message_prefix"].options[document.forms["comment_form"].elements["message_prefix"].selectedIndex].value;
value = "["+msgPrefix+"] "+value;
comment_submit();
}
else {
alert("Please type some text");
}
document.getElementById("form_submit").disabled = false;
});

function comment_done() { }
function comment_submit()
{
$.ajax({
type: "POST",
url: "/targetfile.php",
data: $("#comment_form").serialize(),
success: function(data){
if (data == "SUCCESS") {
//alert("Successful");
document.comment_form.message.value = "";
setTimeout (CommentAjax,0);
}
else {
alert("Error: "+data);
}
}
});
}

});
</script>

<form id="comment_form" name="comment_form" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="heu" value="addreply" />
<input type="hidden" name="muser" value="' . $this->muser . '" />
<input type="hidden" name="modid" value="' . $this->douid . '" />
<input type="hidden" name="tun" value="0" />


<select name="message_prefix">
<option value=""></option>
<option value="1">One</option>
<option value="2">Two</option>
<option value="3">Three</option>
</select>

<textarea name="message" rows="4" cols="20" style="width: 70%;"></textarea><br />

<input type="button" id="form_submit" value="Submit" />
</form></div>

VIPStephan
09-24-2012, 11:54 AM
That’s nothing JavaScript should do, it’s the job of the server side script that is processing the form data. You select something in the select element, hit the submit button, and the data will be stored in the database and can be retreived in any way you like.

basketmen
09-24-2012, 12:11 PM
its should be able using javascript, i just want to joining the drop down value + the textarea value, then send them to database as 1 field

Philip M
09-24-2012, 12:45 PM
var msgPrefix = document.comment_form.message_prefix.value; // the value is 1,2 or 3
value = "["+msgPrefix+"] "+ value; // but I do not see any variable named "value"




All advice is supplied packaged by intellectual weight, and not by volume. Contents may settle slightly in transit.

xelawho
09-24-2012, 03:23 PM
I'm assuming OP's looking for something like this...


var msgPrefix = document.comment_form.message_prefix.value; // the value is 1,2 or 3
document.comment_form.message.value = msgPrefix+" "+ document.comment_form.message.value;

basketmen
09-24-2012, 04:56 PM
many thanks and GBU xelawo, Philip M, and VIPStephan
xelawo code is working


btw in the bottom code, it is better i am using name, like currently
<select name="message_prefix">
<option value=""></option>
<option value="1">One</option>
<option value="2">Two</option>
<option value="3">Three</option>
</select>


or using id, like this
<select id="message_prefix">
<option value=""></option>
<option value="1">One</option>
<option value="2">Two</option>
<option value="3">Three</option>
</select>


because i tried using any both of them are working



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum