View Full Version : Image resizing with IrfanView

09-20-2012, 12:06 AM
I'm using IrfanView to resize images, I've tried to set the sizes of px, percent and kb but nothing seems to be working they show up as unclear and the same no matter what dimensions on twitter and facebook. Doesn't seem to resize too good quality, can anyone help.


09-20-2012, 01:07 PM
Sounds like your doing too much like trying to change both the width and the height or not saving image.

Under menu item IMAGE find Resize/Resample. The second box down on the left has the current dimensions and pixels checked. High light the Width property and change it to what you want. The height will change automatically to keep aspect ratio. Don't mess with it.

Click OK at the bottom, if what you want save image under a new name to keep both the old and the new.

09-20-2012, 04:25 PM
Thanks for your response. The thing is when I try to set other dimensions it will not work and on twitter and other programs it comes out to show only the center of the graphic not the entire thing, but it works with dimensions 100x100 shows the whole thing but not as good quality and cuts of real close to the border, I go to File > Save for web (plugin) > then enter custom height and width because it only allows for 100x100 if I go above that it will show the center as said before. How can I enhance the quality (resampling filter)?

09-20-2012, 09:23 PM
I go to File > Save for web (plugin) > then enter custom height and width

My version 4.33 does not allow you to set height or width in the Save for web (plugin) screen.

I just took a 1600 by 1200 jpg image color 16,7 Millions (24 BitsPerPixel). and set width to 100pxs. and re sized. Final image is 100 by 75 px. thats 4:3 ratio and it has 16,7 Millions (24 BitsPerPixel) color in the web save reduction.

The amount of color and the image format will have an effect of the final image. but you get to see things before you ok the save. Don't know what your doing wrong. Please try my fist post again the way I said. If still no good can you post the original on a site like photo bucket and I'll make 100px max on a side.

09-20-2012, 11:05 PM
- this size is 189 x 101 which as you can see does not fit the screen and it only allows for 100 x 100 as lowest option

- this image is 100 x 100 and fits the screen but at really bad quality, borders are cut and looks squeezed together

- this is the save as web (plugin)

- web plugin menu where you can add custom height and width

- this pops up when you click save as

09-21-2012, 02:05 AM
You know, you haven't done anything I said. Why ask for help if your not going to do what is offered as help?

My 100 by 75px -> http://i815.photobucket.com/albums/zz74/sunfighter41/Lithuanian_zps0c205018.jpg

The big image it came from go here to see -> http://i815.photobucket.com/albums/zz74/sunfighter41/Lithuanian_1600x1200_zps65e30fcf.jpg

Show me where you set the height and width on this page:


09-21-2012, 03:36 AM
I have done what you said.... even done it before you said it, but I told you the program only allows uploads of 100 x 100 not 100 x 98 not 100 x 99 won't allow you to upload it.

Under the resampling pop up, is where you edit it to a custom setting of your choosing, ex: 100 x 100.

09-21-2012, 02:31 PM
I have done what you said
I believe I said:

Show me where you set the height and width on this page:And that wasn't done.

After uploading the large image do these steps as numbered

1.)http://i815.photobucket.com/albums/zz74/sunfighter41/1_zps0c624a1d.png Pick this

2.)http://i815.photobucket.com/albums/zz74/sunfighter41/2_zps29f831a3.png click this OFF

3.)http://i815.photobucket.com/albums/zz74/sunfighter41/3_zps6d293781.png Set both height and width to 100px

4.)http://i815.photobucket.com/albums/zz74/sunfighter41/4_zpsf5f8ac32.png Hit OK

5.)http://i815.photobucket.com/albums/zz74/sunfighter41/5_zps62f88f2b.png Click this

6.)http://i815.photobucket.com/albums/zz74/sunfighter41/6_zpsdc3dde87.png Just save, nothing else.

09-22-2012, 05:38 PM
I showed you where the small menu (to custom fit your dimensions) is for some reason I could not take a Screen shot of it. Well anyway thanks for your help, I'm still trying to fit it on the avatar profile only accepts 100 x 100 but it's bad quality and anything above 120 x or higher cuts off screen.

Coding Start
09-27-2012, 05:07 AM
Do you have been try to change file format with another ones?

09-28-2012, 09:09 AM
are you using version ?? with version 4.33 does not allow you to set height or width in the Save.
Friv (http://friv.firm.in/)

09-29-2012, 09:39 PM
I haven't used Irfanview in a long time, I'm on Linux now, but I always found that it works best if you use the % settings, 25 or 50 or 33. If you use some weird ratio .707 say, and too simple an algorithm, you will get
interpolation problems.

10-21-2012, 12:26 AM
My version 4.33 does not allow you to set height or width in the Save for web (plugin) screen.

He,he it does. I just randomly tested it. If you go and try to save for web a very big file that option will pop up.