View Full Version : How can I position my program icons so that they stay put?

09-14-2012, 01:49 PM
After neatly positioning my icons on the destop, they move the next time I boot up,

Any ideas welcome.

Thanks for the birthday wishes, I am 87 yrs old today.

Frank (A little the worse for wear I am afraid.)


Windows 7 Prrofessional
fully updated.

09-14-2012, 02:04 PM
I use this (http://www.stardock.com/products/fences/) program (the free version) and it works great. You will need to set the little groupings so that when you double click the desktop the don't hide (by default a new 'fence' is set to hide when you do so). You can easily add it to the exclusion list. The only problem with this software is that when you change resolutions (eg when I take my LT and disconnect it from my docking station and use it, or plug it into another monitor) the fences get all screwed up and you need to re-organize them; however there is the 'snap-shot' feature which I have just never looked into but probably would solve this issue.

I really like it, you can label them, change the colors, the opacity, etc. You can make them small and then the icons inside (if they exceed the fence size) are then scroll-able. It is fairly easy to use and there is a 'management window'. Everything is rightclick-based for creating new fences, and managing existing ones. It is like adding a new feature to the standard right-click on desktop.

Ah yes, Happy Birthday as well- 87 years young :)

09-14-2012, 02:25 PM
Thanks for your help. Unfortunately my PC refuses to allow me to use it.
Have you any idea why?

09-15-2012, 12:24 AM
Have you tried tape on the monitor?

09-15-2012, 12:34 AM

I'll have to take a look around for my bookmarks when I get home. I seem to recall that this had something to do with the autodetect for the monitor itself, but I did find a registry solution for it.
Happy birthday btw frank!

09-15-2012, 11:42 AM
Have you tried tape on the monitor?
What is "TAPE" on the monitor? It is a new one to me.

Forgetful Frank


The answer is here. Or is it.

NO, It didn't work for me.
Back to the Drawing-board.


09-15-2012, 07:16 PM
This is the link here: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_xp-desktop/how-can-i-lock-desktop-icons/75c03648-1478-4c7b-a8f2-392616b30728

It requires an alteration to the registry, so make sure you export it first. From the command line you can do that with regedit /e C:\fullregistry.reg which will dump the registry on the C drive with the name fullregistry.reg. Do that first in case something goes horribly wrong; you can boot to safe mode with F8 and restore the registry from there (simply double click it, or in the registry menu you can import).
Check this link out too: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-system/corrupt-registry-root-cause-in-startup-repair/f77d5355-b8be-41d6-af24-cae994e1768f
It involves steps of recovering the registry, although it looks like this one takes from a shadow (actually it looks like windows does it for you by selecting repair (I've never seen this in windows 7 before). How nice).

I lied, it looks more difficult and involves restoration of files by examining the dates. Too bad; just keep the registry export instead (I doubt you'll have a problem with that edit).

09-18-2012, 12:47 AM
What is "TAPE" on the monitor? It is a new one to me.

Duct tape. It can fix anything.

Although I would not recommend #247

247. Poor man's Viagra - two Popsicle sticks and duct tape.

09-18-2012, 12:50 AM
I have no idea about your icon issue, but happy birthday!!


09-21-2012, 02:51 PM
I have just found this item.


Just off to try it.
Wish me luck.


09-28-2012, 08:42 AM
It worked, thank goodness.
See previous entry.