...

View Full Version : Calling a datatable



lestat0109
07-24-2012, 02:21 PM
I have created a datatable/tableadapters using the designer and would like to know how I fill/refer to this datatable in code.

ASP.NET 4 / VB

Please help.

lestat0109
07-25-2012, 02:18 PM
96 views and no response? Im a little worried that my being new to ASP.net means I worded my question improperly.

alykins
07-25-2012, 03:16 PM
It's more of a "don't know what you are asking" .... no code offered and do not know what it is you're trying to do...

loading a datatable with data is done by...



Dim connstring as String = "... connectionstring.com ... "
Dim _Query as String = "SELECT * FROM tbl_Demo

Dim dt as new DataTable()

Dim conn as new SqlConnection(connstring)
Dim da as new SqlDataAdapter(_Query,conn)

conn.Open()
da.Fill(dt)
conn.Close()

Refs:
datatables (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.data.datatable.aspx)
dataadapters (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.data.sqlclient.sqldataadapter.aspx#Y0)

lestat0109
07-25-2012, 03:42 PM
It's more of a "don't know what you are asking" .... no code offered and do not know what it is you're trying to do...

loading a datatable with data is done by...



Dim connstring as String = "... connectionstring.com ... "
Dim _Query as String = "SELECT * FROM tbl_Demo

Dim dt as new DataTable()

Dim conn as new SqlConnection(connstring)
Dim da as new SqlDataAdapter(_Query,conn)

conn.Open()
da.Fill(dt)
conn.Close()

Refs:
datatables (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.data.datatable.aspx)
dataadapters (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.data.sqlclient.sqldataadapter.aspx#Y0)

Ah, gotcha. Ill elaborate. I have already set the connection string in the dataset designer. I have already created a query in the tableadapter for the information i would like to fill the datatable with. I have a function that requires that I pass a datatable to it and i have no idea how to point that function to the datatable i have created in the designer, rather than recreate the whole thing in code only. (like your example above) The datatable is called dtTest and the tableadapter is called taTest.

alykins
07-25-2012, 04:21 PM
private Sub something()
.....
Dim dt as new DataTable()
FillMyTable(dt)
CallSomething(dt)
......
End Sub

private Sub FillMyTable(ByVal dt as DataTable)

Dim connstring as String = "... connectionstring.com ... "
Dim _Query as String = "SELECT * FROM tbl_Demo

Dim conn as new SqlConnection(connstring)
Dim da as new SqlDataAdapter(_Query,conn)

conn.Open()
da.Fill(dt)
conn.Close()
return dt
End Sub

private Sub CallSomething(ByVal dt as DataTable)
foreach r as DataRow in dt.Rows
'do something
Next
End Sub

lestat0109
07-25-2012, 04:34 PM
private Sub something()
.....
Dim dt as new DataTable()
FillMyTable(dt)
CallSomething(dt)
......
End Sub

private Sub FillMyTable(ByVal dt as DataTable)

Dim connstring as String = "... connectionstring.com ... "
Dim _Query as String = "SELECT * FROM tbl_Demo

Dim conn as new SqlConnection(connstring)
Dim da as new SqlDataAdapter(_Query,conn)

conn.Open()
da.Fill(dt)
conn.Close()
return dt
End Sub

private Sub CallSomething(ByVal dt as DataTable)
foreach r as DataRow in dt.Rows
'do something
Next
End Sub


Is there any reason why i cant use the one datatable i have already created?

http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc409/lestat0109/DataTable.png

how would i reference this dtTest that i have created through code. I want to use it rather than create a new one through code.

alykins
07-25-2012, 05:10 PM
you can use whatever you want... i just was copy/pasting and didn't want to change all references... honestly i have no clue how to do it via "wizard"... I hate wizards... doing it via code is always preferred... I tend to not even use the screen UI for setting properties- I usually set them via code. I have no clue what your code looks like or where that object is created... when you are on the webpage, hit F7 to go to code... you should see your object created in there somewhere. it might be in the designer (don't change things in there unless you know what you're doing- it will break)... the designer is a partial class though...
Example
Page.aspx <- asp.net web page with html elements
Page.aspx.vb <- vb code behind file
page.aspx.designer.vb <- partial class used to create objects and delegates

lestat0109
07-25-2012, 05:57 PM
ok, well, thanks.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum