...

View Full Version : Image path is good, images won't load



garydarling
07-19-2012, 06:42 PM
I have a problem I have not seen before, where the live site will not load images that are in the /images subdirectory. Looking at it in developer tools, you see the resource location and filename, and if you copy that into the address bar the image comes up just fine (that should rule out permissions and paths).

What else could it be? I've triple-checked the folder path, it looks good. Is there a php module or .htaccess directive I'm missing?

The live site is http://reidads.com/ads/, and there is a phpinfo file in the root called info.php if that helps.

FYI, I installed the identical site files on my localhost and cannot get any resources to load - styles, scripts, or images, although all paths resolve if entered directly in the address bar. Baffling.

I then installed the same site files on a live dev server, everything shows up as expected. That url is http://garydarling.net/adsmgr/. The info.php (http://garydarling.net/adsmgr/info.php) file also exists at the root of that site.

Thanks for any help!

mlseim
07-19-2012, 07:06 PM
All I get is a login page.

garydarling
07-19-2012, 07:35 PM
All I get is a login page.

Yes, but if you look at the code behind that page the images fail to load. That's what I'm trying to fix.

Fou-Lu
07-19-2012, 09:37 PM
This won't be a PHP problem unless those images are .php. If they fail to render, then the path is no good for HTML to display them.

I also don't have a problem with the images there.

Keleth
07-19-2012, 10:01 PM
Yup, images working here as well. Are you sure you don't have adblock or something set to hide those images? Tried a different browser?

Also, my heart cries a bit at seeing tables used for layout...

AndrewGSW
07-19-2012, 10:08 PM
You are using a lot of deprecated HTML tags but have no DOCTYPE declaration
(and nested tables, ugh!).

At a minimum I would insert the DOCTYPE form HTML4.01 and html, head and body tags.

I would also correct the CSS for


form {margin: 2; padding:0;}

where the number 2 should have some units.

Edited: Yes, Adblock was blocking some images for me, but I still recommend the corrections above (among others) to have the page display as intended.

garydarling
07-20-2012, 12:05 AM
Yup, images working here as well. Are you sure you don't have adblock or something set to hide those images? Tried a different browser?

Also, my heart cries a bit at seeing tables used for layout...

Adblock, nicely done! I have never seen adblock take out all the site images before, but that was it.

The code on this site is atrocious, php short tags, tables for layout, no doctype or html & body tags on the login page, etc. The original designer left in a hurry, the owner asked me to step in - this is day one. Thanks for the help everybody!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum