PDA

View Full Version : How do you change bg color when Text is auto filled into text Field?



chris77780124
06-18-2012, 10:28 PM
So I have figured out from a guy on here that this code lets you change the BG Color when certain text is enter into a text field. It works just fine.

But now what I need help with is what Java Script statement do I use if the field has text automatically enter into the field. I need the same thing to happen the BG Color to change a different color depending on what text has been auto filled.

If someone knows what extra code I would need to enter to make this work
Thanks to all who can help.

<body>
<input type="text" name="fld1" id="fld1" onkeyup="changeBG(this.value)"/><br />
<input type="text" name="fld2" id="fld2" onkeyup="changeBG1(this.value)"/><br />
<input tupe="text" name="fld3" id="fld3" onkeyup="changeBG(this.value)"/><br />
<script>
function changeBG(val){
var colors={"AMDML":"red","MA":"green","SPN":"black"};
for(i in colors){
if(val.match(i)){
document.body.style.backgroundColor=colors[i];
}
}
}
</script>

<script>
function changeBG1(val){
var colors={"AMDML":"blue","CA FANNIEMAE MA":"green","BCRA ETRADE":"black"};
for(i in colors){
if(val.match(i)){
document.body.style.backgroundColor=colors[i];
}
}
}
</script>

</body>

WolfShade
06-18-2012, 10:41 PM
Use the windows.onload command to run the function supplying the value (document.forms["formname"].fld1.value).

chris77780124
06-18-2012, 11:26 PM
I'm confused you want me to replace the document.body.style.backgroundColor=colors[i]; with the code you wrote?
document.forms["formname"].fld1.value

Let me know if I'm correct. Thanks

\<script>
function changeBG1(val){
var colors={"AMDML":"blue","CA FANNIEMAE MA":"green","BCRA ETRADE":"black"};
for(i in colors){
if(val.match(i)){
document.forms["formname"].fld1.value

}
}
}
</script>

xelawho
06-19-2012, 01:09 AM
it will depend on how the text "automatically" gets filled. text inputs have an onchange event, but this doesn't fire until the input loses focus (so is kind of useless imo) - you will probably have to fire the function from the function that sends the text, but without seeing that, it's hard to say.