View Full Version : Page with multiple forms. onblur issue

mumbojumbo
05-27-2012, 12:08 PM
My first javascript problem:

I have a php script with multiple forms. Each form holds only one text field and a submit button.

If the user places the cursor in a text field below and add text, but then forget to submit that form and instead click a text field in another forms text field ("onbluring" the first forms text field) the text that was typed in the first forms text field will disapeare.

To warn the user I would like to add some code that when the user is leaving the text field in a form without having submitted the form warns the user of this.

It's would be nice if the user is warned only if the text field that's leaved holds text.

I understand that I must learn Javascript but since I don't now OOP yet, I ask for help begging on my bare knees. Please have mercy, I'm just a simple procedural PHP programmer.

<form action="'.$_SERVER['PHP_SELF'].'" method="post">
First name: <input type="text" name="fn" />
<input type="submit" value="Register" />
</form>

Last name: <input type="text" name="ln" />
<input type="submit" value="Register" />
</form>

Philip M
05-27-2012, 12:37 PM
You could simply submit the form onblur:-

First name: <input type="text" name="ln" onblur = "if(this.value.length>1) {this.form.submit()}">
</form>

But apart from the minimum field length there is no validation, so the user could enter just a single space, an x or a ? and still submit the form. It would be better to perform some checks:-

First name: <input type="text" name="fn" onblur = "check(0, this.value)">
</form>

<script type = "text/javascript">
function check(fnum, x) {
x = x.replace(/^\s+|\s+$/g,""); // strip leading and trailing spaces;
x = x.replace(/\s{2,}/g," "); // replace multiple spaces with one space
x = x.replace(/[^a-z\s\-\']/g,""); // strip all but letters, space, hyphen and apostrophe
document.forms[fnum].fn.value = x; // write the modified value back to the field